James R. “Jim Bob” Moffett, chairman and co-founder of Freeport McMoRan, will step down. The board has elected Gerald J. Ford as nonexecutive chairman. During his more than 50-year career in the natural resource industry, Moffett became an icon as an explorationist. He was instrumental in the discovery and development of the Grasberg deposit in Indonesia, which has grown to become one of the world’s largest copper and gold deposits. Moffett has served as executive chairman of FCX since 2003 and previously served as the company’s CEO from 1995 to 2003. In 1969, Moffett and two associates founded McMoRan Oil & Gas Co., which merged with Freeport Minerals.

Goldcorp announced its President and CEO Chuck Jeannes will retire in April. He will be replaced by David A. Garofalo, who is the current president and CEO of HudBay Minerals. He will also join the board of directors. Jeannes has led Goldcorp since January 2007 and worked with Goldcorp and its predecessor company Glamis Gold Ltd. for almost 17 years. Alan Hair will replace Garofalo as president and CEO, HudBay Minerals. Hair has served as COO since 2012.

LKAB announced numerous management changes, including: Jan Moström, president and group CEO. Moström has been employed with LKAB since August, formerly president of Boliden’s Business Area Mines; Grete Solvang Stoltz, senior vice president, human resources and sustainability, has been employed with LKAB since 2009; Leif Boström, special products division. Boström has been employed with LKAB since 1992 and most recently as president of the subsidiary LKAB Minerals; Markus Petäjäniemi, market and logistics. He has been employed with LKAB since 2005 and has served most recently as senior vice president, mining and logistics; Åsa Sundqvist, operational support and business development. Sundqvist has been employed with LKAB since 1992 and has served most recently as general manager of the Vitåfors mine in Malmberget; Magnus Arnkvist is the new production manager, south. Arknvist served as president of Bergteamet AB and now runs his own consultancy; Peter Hansson is the new senior vice president, finance. Hansson is currently human resources, communications and administrative director of Boliden Mines: and Stefan Rommedahl is the new production manager, north. He has served most recently as president of Boliden’s zinc mine in Tara, Ireland.
Highland Copper appointed Luc Lessard to the board of directors. He is senior vice-president, technical services, of Osisko Gold Royalties Ltd. and president, CEO and a director of Falco Resources Ltd.

Centerra Gold announced that Jeff Parr, vice president and CFO, will retire March 31. He joined Centerra as vice president of finance in 2006 and was promoted to CFO in 2008.

MMG appointed Ross Carroll as CFO and a member of the executive committee.

Nickel Mountain Group (NMG) appointed Endre Rangnes as the CEO and Johnny Tsolis as head of strategy and projects. Rangnes replaces Torbjörn Ranta, who will continue with NMG’s mineral exploration business. NMG also appointed Geir Johansen as CFO.
Jaguar Mining announced that George Bee is leaving his position as CEO.
McEwen Mining promoted Andrew Elinesky to senior vice president and CFO, and Andrew Laboni has been appointed vice president, finance. Elinesky currently serves as vice president, Argentina, with responsibility for administrative and financial oversight of the San José mine. Laboni has been a part of the McEwen Mining team since 2010.

Rodney Lamond has been appointed as CEO of Jaguar Mining. Lamond is currently a director of Jaguar and was the president and CEO of Crocodile Gold Corp. before the July business combination of Crocodile Gold and Newmarket Gold.

Nyrstar NV appointed Christopher Eger CFO and a member of the Nyrstar Management Committee. He takes over from Heinz Eigner, who is leaving the company. Previously, Eger was senior member of the Mergers and Acquisitions team at Trafigura.

North River Resources appointed Rod Beddows as independent nonexecutive chairman. He is the nonexecutive chairman of ZincOx Resources and is also a senior adviser to HCF International Advisers Ltd.

Arizona Mining appointed Johnny Pappas to the position of director of environment and permitting. Pappas recently held the position of director of environmental affairs for Romarco Minerals.

LeadFX (formerly Ivernia) appointed Rob Scargill as managing director and Doug Grimmond as director of mining operations, Australia. Scargill currently serves as the divisional director, resources, of Enirgi Group, and Grimmond has been the general manager of the company’s flagship lead carbonate operation in Western Australia for the past five years. Todd Vains has stepped down as executive vice president, operations, to focus on a new role within Enirgi Group’s global business.

Lithium X Energy appointed David Hawkins as chief hydrogeologist for the Clayton Valley North project.

Mincor Resources announced that long-serving Managing Director David Moore will step down from day-to-day management and move to a nonexecutive role. COO Peter Muccilli will be appointed CEO, effective February. Moore will move to the position of deputy chairman from March 1.

Juan Jose Aranguren will be the next minister of energy and mining for Argentina under the presidency of Mauricio Macri. He was the CEO of Shell Compañía Argentina de Petróleo until March 2015.

Hecla Mining announced the passing of John H. Bowles, director of the company, in early December. He served on the board for more than nine years since his retirement as a partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP.

ALLU Group announced Edgar J. Chavez will take over as president and CEO, replacing Mardi Ohanessian who will be retiring at the end of 2015.

TerraSource Global appointed Jason Burlage president, succeeding Mark Kohler, who announced his retirement earlier this year. Burlage joined TerraSource Global in 2014 as vice president of service and strategy, after 14 years with Hillenbrand.

Lars Engström has been appointed president of Sandvik Mining. He will be included as a new member of Sandvik’s Group Executive Management. Previously, he was president and CEO of the air treatment solutions company Munters. Olle Wijk, executive vice president and head of Sandvik’s R&D Group, will retire in April.

Baldor Electric Co. appointed Myla Petree to the newly created position of director of strategic program management.