Anglo American announced several changes. Paulo Castellari will step down from his position as CEO of Anglo American’s iron ore business in Brazil to pursue other opportunities. Peter Whitcutt has been appointed as CEO of Anglo American’s marketing business, having served as group director of strategy, business development and marketing since 2013. The company appointed Didier Charreton as group director of human resources. Also, Phuthuma Nhleko, a nonexecutive director, has decided to step down from the Anglo board.

De Beers appointed Bruce Cleaver as group director of strategy and business development. Gareth Mostyn, currently CFO of De Beers, was appointed as executive head of strategy and corporate affairs. The appointments are effective January 1, although Mostyn will fulfil his year-end reporting commitments as CFO. The appointment of a new CFO for De Beers has not been made .

Westmoreland Coal Co. announced that Brian Blackman has joined the company as director of investor relations. Most recently, Blackman served as vice president of investor relations for Molycorp.

Entrée Gold announced that its CEO Greg Crowe is departing pursue other opportunities. The board appointed Stephen Scott as the interim CEO Most recently, Scott was the CEO of Minenet Advisors.

Kibaran Resources appointed former Resolute Mining Chairman and Australian-African resources executive Robert “Bob” Pett, to the company’s board of directors as nonexecutive chairman.

Primero Mining appointed Ernest Mast as president and CEO and director of the board effective January 31. Joseph F. Conway, the company’s CEO since its inception, will assume the role of executive vice chairman as part of an established succession plan. In mid-2016, Conway will transition to vice chairman and director of the board.

Arizona Mining appointed James “Jim” K. Gowans as president and CEO and a director of the company effective January 1. Gowans was formerly co-president of Barrick Gold.

Dominion Diamond announced that Brendan Bell, CEO, has been appointed to the board of directors. Bell joined the company in July 2013 with responsibility for external affairs and human resources and led the team tasked with conducting permitting negotiations for the Jay Project with the government of the Northwest Territories.

Billionaire hedge fund manager Carl Icahn purchased a major position with Freeport-McMoRan. In connection with this transaction, Andrew Langham and Courtney Mather have been appointed to FCX’s board of directors. Langham has been general counsel of Icahn Enterprises L.P. since January 2015 and was previously assistant general counsel since 2005. Mather has served as a managing director of Icahn Capital LP since April 2014.

Turquoise Hill Resources announced the resignation of Stewart Beckman, senior vice president, operations and technical development. Beckman has accepted a new position within Rio Tinto.

Kingsrose Mining announced that Scott Huffadine has resigned as managing director.

Russel Metals promoted John G. Reid to president and COO.

Alamos Gold announced that Alan Edwards has resigned from the board of directors and from his position as chair of the board. Paul Murphy has been appointed to serve as chair.

Venturex Resources appointed mining executive John Nitschke as managing director.

Nevsun Resources announced the addition of Peter Tam as vice president of finance.

Atrum Coal NL appointed Ann Marie Hann as vice president, external relations. She was previously president of the Coal Association of Canada, a position she held for more than four years.

The Coal Association of Canada appointed Robin Campbell as the new president of the association. Campbell was member of the Alberta Legislative Assembly from 2008-2015.

KGL Resources announced that Chris Bain has stepped aside as acting chairman and the board unanimously elected Denis Wood as his replacement.
CSA Global appointed senior resource geologist, Dr. Belinda van Lente to its team in the United Kingdom.

Helena Marjaranta has been appointed vice president of global communications at Metso. She joins Metso from the Finnish Transport Agency, where she has worked as director of communications and sustainability since 2013.

Colin Boyd joined Joy Global as vice president and CIO. He started in early November. He replaced Mark Shaver, who will eventually move to a position within Joy’s underground product services division.

Samson announced that after 41 years with the company, Tony Bon will step down as CEO on January 1. Andrea Sturm has been appointed as Bon’s successor.

Baldor Electric promoted Ryan Fitts to director of quality.

ALLU Group announced Edgar J. Chavez will take over as president and CEO, replacing Mardi Ohanessian who will be retiring at the end of 2015.
Vermeer named Jason Andringa as president and CEO.

New Mexico Tech welcomed Dr. Sekhar Bhattacharyya as associate professor of mineral engineering. Prior to this appointment, he worked at various operations in engineering the U.S., and Joy Global and CESC Ltd. in India.

Graeme Jameson received the inaugural Australian Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation ($250,000) for the development of flotation technologies that has added billions of dollars to the value of Australia’s mineral and energy industries. Graeme took flotation, a century old technology developed in Broken Hill, and transformed it. He created the Jameson Cell in the 1980s to concentrate base metals such as copper, lead and zinc. The technology found many more applications, most profitably in the Australian coal industry, where the Jameson Cell has retrieved fine export coal particles worth more than $36 billion.

Now, Jameson is working on a newer version of his technology. The Novacell can concentrate larger ore particles, and save up to 15% of the total energy expended in extraction and processing in mining. Jameson is laureate professor of chemical engineering at the University of Newcastle and director of its Centre for Multiphase Processes.