Jim Gowans, COO of BarrickJim Gowans has been appointed COO of Barrick. He was most recently managing director of Debswana, a joint venture between the government of Botswana and De Beers SA.

Lydia H. KennardFrances Fragos TownsendFreeport-McMoRan Copper & Gold Inc. appointed Lydia H. Kennard and Frances Fragos Townsend to its board of directors.

Lydian International Ltd. hired Howard H.J. Stevenson as president and CEO, effective April 1. Stevenson, who will also become a director, will succeed Dr. Timothy Coughlin, who will retire.

Tesoro Minerals Corp. appointed John Gray as its new COO. Gray is currently the CEO of Verde Resources Inc.

John J. QuaidLarry T. BrockwaySharon K. Owens

U.S. Steel named John J. Quaid, vice president-iron ore, and appointed Larry T. Brockway as senior vice president, chief risk officer and treasurer. Sharon K. Owen will retire from North American Flat-Rolled Operations.

Tony CudmoreBHP Billiton appointed Tony Cudmore as president, corporate affairs, effective March 3. He joins BHP Billiton from Exxon Mobil Corp.

Undur Tolgoi Minerals Inc. appointed Erdembileg Jugdernamjil to the position of COO, replacing Jimmie Wilde who has resigned. Jugdernamjil is the CEO of CBM LLC and the CEO of Big Mogul Coal & Energy LLC.

West African Resources Ltd. appointed Jean-Marc Lulin to the position of non-executive director. Since June 2003, Lulin has been president, CEO and director of Azimut Exploration Inc.

Kolmar appointed Sergey Tsivilev CEO, following the departure of Andrey Churin. Tsivilev will remain a member of the board of directors. He is one of the minority shareholders and co-founders of Kolmar.

Luke RussellHecla Mining Co. appointed Luke Russell vice president, external affairs. Prior to joining Hecla, he was senior vice president of environment and community at Coeur Mining.

Pershing Gold Corp. announced Daniel B. Moore as vice president and general manager. Moore will play a key role in the planned reopening of the Relief Canyon mine and heap leach gold processing facility in Pershing County, Nevada.

Darren TownsendPeak Resources Ltd. appointed Darren Townsend to managing director. Most recently, he was president and CEO of Pacific Wildcat Resources Corp. Executive Chairman Alastair Hunter will resume his previous position as non-executive chairman.

Orosur Mining Inc. announced the following additions to its team: Jorge Aceituno Sandova, general manager, operations; Ryan Cohen, vice president, planning and corporate development; and Marcos Moreno Hueyo, legal counsel and secretary; all of them reporting to Ignacio Salazar, CEO. Aceituno Sandova was most recently general manager of operations for Barrick’s Pascua-Lama project. Cohen currently serves as vice president, operations for Sennen Potash. Moreno Hueyo joined the company in October 2013.

Belmont Resources Inc. appointed Pierre O’Dowd as vice president, exploration.

Nevsun Resources Ltd. hired Tom Whelan as its CFO.

Fortune Minerals Ltd. promoted Adam Jean to vice president of finance and CFO.

Peabody Energy appointed Michael W. Sutherlin as a member of the board of directors. Until December 2013, Sutherlin served as president and CEO of Joy Global Inc.

Michael Welch has joined Lundin Mining as general manager, Eagle mine. Welch was most recently responsible for Glencore Xstrata’s Raglan nickel operations in Quebec.

Jim Faulds, a research professor for the University of Nevada, Reno and director for the Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology, has been elected a fellow of the Geological Society of America for his work on tectonics and structural geology.

Midway Gold Corp. appointed Brad Blacketor CFO.

Gindalbie Metals Ltd. appointed Wayne Zekulich as its CFO.

Marengo appointed Alexander Dann CFO, based in Toronto, Canada.

Allmineral hired Andreas Hees. Before joining allmineral, Hees was head of the mineral processing department at SGA (research centre for ore beneficiation).

Dr. Stephen L. WhittingtonThe National Mining Hall of Fame and Museum appointed Dr. Stephen L. Whittington as its new executive director.

SGS announced three appointments within the minerals services business in Mexico: Shaun Compton, minerals business manager; Luis Prado, technical manager, trade services; and Hernán Narvarte, commercial manager, trade services.

Gerald P. Zinken Enterprises Inc. hired Gerald P. “Jerry” Willnecker.

Silver Stream Mining Corp. appointed Terrence Byberg as president and CEO, and a director.

Hardide Coatings hired Ioan Jones as laboratory manager and Oliver Jones as pre-treatment specialist.

Pieter De Klerk has accepted the position of senior site services and network engineer for Northern Light Technologies. Most recently, he was the automation engineer for Xstrata Oaky Creek.

Garner Industries, has promoted Jenny Christensen to vice president of marketing for both the Garner and BinMaster divisions. Christensen joined Garner Industries in 2008 as director of marketing.

The Obama administration nominated Dr. Suzette Kimball to serve as the director of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS). Kimball has served as acting director since February 2013 following the departure of Marcia McNutt. Prior to working with the USGS, she served at the U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the National Park Service.

The Prospectors & Developers Association of Canada (PDAC) will honor six industry leaders at the PDAC 2014 Convention in Toronto, March 2-5, 2014. Ross McElroy is the recipient of the Bill Dennis Award for a Canadian mineral discovery or prospecting success for leading Fission’s team of geologists in the one of the most significant discoveries in the Athabasca Basin in recent years. The Patterson Lake South property is a high-grade, shallow-depth uranium discovery located on the southwestern margin of the Athabasca Basin in northern Saskatchewan. Capstone Mining Corp. is the recipient of the Viola R. MacMillan Award for company or mine development for demonstrating leadership and management in the successful development of the Minto and Cozamin copper mines and in its acquisition of Pinto Valley copper mine, as well as transforming it into an intermediate copper producer. Goldrush Discovery Team, Barrick Gold Corp., is the recipient of the Thayer Lindsley Award for the discovery of the 14.1-million-oz Goldrush deposit in Cortez District, Nevada, USA. The 25-person Goldrush Discovery Team was led by Rob Krcmarov, senior vice president, Global Exploration (Toronto), François Robert, vice president and chief geologist (Toronto), Ed Cope, vice president, exploration North America (Elko, Nevada), Kevin Creel (chief exploration geologist), Mark Bradley (district geologist) and Alejandro Ly (project geologist). Roger Wallis is the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award for his contribution and dedication to the PDAC over the past 47 years. He joined the PDAC in 1967, and has been an active PDAC committee member since 1993. He has been an integral member of the Convention Planning Committee. Teck Resources Ltd. is the recipient of the Environmental and Social Responsibility Award for its outstanding accomplishments and commitment to sustainability, environmental and social initiatives. In 2011, Teck developed a comprehensive strategy, focusing on long- and short-term goals to achieve the company’s vision for sustainability. Jim MacLeod is the winner of the Skookum Jim Award for Aboriginal achievement in the mineral industry for his strong leadership on the environmental impact of the mining sector and his work advocating for more education and training programs for Aboriginal youth within the industry.