Jochen Tilk

Kevin Krieger

Jochen Tilk Roy Pitchford

Potash Corp. appointed Jochen Tilk as president and CEO, effective July 1. After 27 years, Bill Doyle will step down as president and CEO, but remain employed with the company as a senior advisor through June 2015. Tilk most recently served as president and CEO of Inmet Mining.

Stillwater Mining Co. announced that Kevin Shiell, vice president of mining operations, resigned. Shiell’s responsibilities will be assumed by Dee Bray, manager of mine operations.

African Consolidated Resources appointed Roy Pitchford CEO. Pitchford has held the position of CEO for African Minerals Ltd., Cluff Resources Zimbabwe Ltd., Delta Gold Zimbabwe Ltd., African Platinum plc and Zimbabwe Platinum Mines Ltd.

First Majestic Silver Corp. appointed Ramon Mendoza Reyes vice president of technical services.

Ur-Energy Inc. named James A. Bonner vice president, geology.

Mike Sylvestre

Valery Sheverdin

Mike Sylvestre Valery Sheverdin

Claude Resources appointed Mike Sylvestre as interim president and CEO following the retirement of Neil McMillan. Sylvestre is a member of the board of directors of Claude. Sylvestre brings more than 35 years of mining experience largely acquired during his career with the former Inco Ltd.

Batero Gold Corp. appointed Dr. Roger Moss as president and CEO. Dr. Moss replaced Juan David Uribe. Uribe will remain a director of the company. Moss was most recently the president of Los Andes Copper. He is an adjunct professor in Mineral Engineering at the University of Toronto.

Mechel OAO appointed Valery Sheverdin as vice president for corporate security. Prior to his appointment, Sheverdin headed Mechel OAO’s corporate security division.

Asanko Gold appointed Rob Sherwen-Slater mining executive, based in the projects office in Johannesburg. Most recently, Sherwen-Slater was group executive mining for Coffey International based in Australia. Mike Gloyne, former COO of PMI Gold, has been retained by the company on a temporary basis to assist with the integration of PMI’s assets into Asanko. In addition, Tony Devlin, COO of Asanko, has resigned and taken early retirement. Josephat Zvaipa has been appointed managing director, Ghana. Dr. Ben Adoo, formerly managing director and chairman of the company’s Ghanaian subsidiary, will retain the full-time role of executive chairman in Ghana. Most recently, he was head of organizational capability at Asanko. Frans de Bruyn has been hired as organizational capability executive. During the past 20 years, he has worked as a consultant with Asanko, Mantra Resources, LionOre Mining, Rio Tinto, BHP Billiton, BCL, Mimosa Mining Company and Zimasco.

Pal Kildemo Han Ilhan Dale Harris
Pål Kildemo Han Ilhan Dale Harris

Pål Kildemo has been appointed head of investor relations in Norsk Hydro ASA.

Nevada Sunrise Gold Corp. named Warren W. Stanyer president and CEO. He served as interim president and CEO since August 2013. He will step down as chairman of the board of directors and Michael D. Sweatman, a director of the company, has accepted the position of non-executive chairman. Stanyer has acted as a director or officer of several public mineral exploration companies since 1996.

Aldridge Minerals Inc. appointed Han Ilhan as president and CEO. Most recently, he served as the vice president and director of global mining business at URS.

IMX Resources appointed Gary Sutherland managing director. His previous role was managing director/CEO of Flinders Mines Ltd.

Gindalbie Metals Ltd. announced that Dale Harris, managing director, will become CEO of Karara Mining Ltd., to directly oversee KML’s operation, the continued debottlenecking and ramp-up of production at the Karara project. Acting CEO and CFO Paul Sims has resigned, but agreed to remain an employee of KML until July. Harris will step down from his position as managing director. Michael O’Neill has been appointed as acting managing director of Gindalbie.

Asa Thunman

Scot Smith

Åsa Thunman Scot Smith

Åsa Thunman has been appointed executive vice president and general counsel of Sandvik. Scot Smith has been appointed president of Sandvik Mining. Both will be included as new members of group executive management. Thunman is currently senior vice president general counsel of Securitas AB. Smith is currently president of the Sulzer Pumps Division. Gary Hughes, president of Sandvik Mining, will assume the position of head of sales and marketing for the same business area.

Logan Resources Ltd. appointed Stewart Wallis president and CEO. Most recently, he served as president and CEO of Crosshair Energy Corp. Adrian Bray has resigned. Bray has been with the company since February 2012.

Kevin Krieger

Larry Brunelle

Kevin Krieger Larry Brunelle

Superior Industries Inc. appointed Kevin Krieger as territory sales manager throughout the Mountain and Northwest regions of the United States.

Ximen Mining Corp. appointed Liana Shahinian, the principal of LS Global Investments Corp., as vice president international relations. She has more than 12 years of progressive experience with several organizations developing corporate communications, marketing and business development strategies.

Amarium Technologies Inc., through its wholly-owned subsidiary Amarium Minerals Inc., appointed Henrich Krauss to the executive staff as the new senior vice president of operations and production manager for the San Pedro mine.

AME International announced that Larry Brunelle has joined the company as vice president of purchasing.

John Veness, general manager of ITT’s Goulds Pumps brand’s operations in the U.K., was presented the British Pump Manufacturers’ Association’s (BPMA) Lifetime Achievement Award for “significant and consistent contribution to the pump industry over the duration of his working career.” He was recognized at the organization’s annual gala, held at the Chesford Grange, Warwickshire, U.K.

Heinz-Gerd Körner, CEO and HR board director at DMT, retired on March 31. After holding a managerial position at DMT since the company’s inception in 1990, Körner was appointed to the executive board in May 1999 and held the position of chairman from March 2008 onward. Professor Eiko Räkers has taken over as CEO. The geophysicist has been a managing director at DMT since 2009 and, prior to that, managed the company’s Exploration and Geosurvey Division. Joining him as managing director and the new HR board director is the former head of human resources, Ulrich Pröpper. He began his career at Ruhrkohle AG, moved to DMT in 1990 and has held a senior position in the company ever since.

John Boynton

Dr Osman Abou Rabia

John Boynton Dr. Osman Abou-Rabia

Bridgestone Commercial Solutions promoted John Boynton, currently vice president, sales, to president.

Orion Gold NL appointed COO Bill Oliver to the board as technical director. Oliver was co-founder and director of Kamax Resources Ltd., which Orion acquired in March 2013 to secure its first strategic tenement holdings in the Albany-Fraser Range Belt of Western Australia.

Titan Group announced that after 20 years at the helm of Titan America, Aris Papadopoulos will retire as CEO, effective August 1. He will become executive chairman of ST Equipment & Technologies, reporting to the group CEO, and also serve as an advisor. Bill Zarkalis, group CFO since 2010, will succeed Papadopoulos.

Laurentian University appointed Dr. Osman Abou-Rabia to the position of dean, faculty of science, engineering and architecture, for a term of five years, beginning July 1. Dr. Abou-Rabia joined Laurentian in 1985 as an assistant professor in the department of mathematics and computer science.

International law firm Dorsey & Whitney LLP announced that Steve Vaughan has joined the firm’s Toronto office.