Barrick Gold Corp. announced that its founder and chairman, Peter Munk, will retire as chairman and step down from the company’s board of directors at the 2014 Annual Meeting of Shareholders. Munk founded Barrick in 1983, growing the company from a small junior producer with one mine into the global gold industry leader with operations on five continents. John L. Thornton, who was appointed as co-chairman in 2012, will become chairman at the 2014 meeting.

Michael-Mick-McMullenStillwater Mining Co. appointed Michael (Mick) McMullen as CEO. McMullen serves on the board of directors and will continue to do so. Most recently, he served as a principal at MRI Advisory AG.

Vista Gold Corp. announced that exploration and new project evaluation will now be the direct responsibility of John W. Rozelle, senior vice president; corporate development and project financing will now be the direct responsibility of John F. “Jack” Engele, CFO and senior vice president; and advancement of the Mount Todd gold project, including permitting and optimization studies will be the responsibility of Brent Murdoch, general manager and director, Vista Gold Australia.

Paul-MartinJames-MavorDetour Gold Corp. announced that Gerald Panneton, president and CEO, has resigned. The board appointed Paul Martin, CFO, as interim CEO. James Mavor, vice president, finance, has been appointed interim CFO.

Anglo Asian Mining appointed Sean C. Muller as a director of geology. Muller’s role will be to further advance the exploration and development of Anglo Asian’s flagship Gedabek gold, copper, silver mine in western Azerbaijan.

Aurcana Corp. appointed David Drips as general manager for the Shafter mine. He has held several senior mine management positions bringing needed change and improvements in safety and operational effectiveness.

Donald-JCliffs Natural Resources announced that Donald J. Gallagher, executive vice president and president, global commercial, will retire. Gallagher assumed his current position in January 2011, after having served as president of Cliffs’ North American business unit since 2007.

Orvana Minerals Corp. announced that Michael Winship has been appointed president and CEO. He had been filling the role on an interim basis since April. He was previously the COO of Quadra FNX Mining Ltd., prior to its acquisition by KGHM.

South American Silver Corp. announced that Ralph Fitch has been re-appointed to the position of president and CEO.

Paul-GoransonUranerz Energy Corp. announced that Paul Goranson has joined Uranerz as president, COO and director. Most recently, he was president of Cameco Resources.

Huakan International Mining Inc. appointed Guixin Zhao as CEO. Pingzhi Guo, the current CEO, will step down, but will continue to serve as the chairman.

Sophie Arnius has been appointed director of investor relations of Boliden.

Mincor Resources NL appointed its head of corporate development, Graham Fariss, to the role of CFO and company secretary.

Kiska Metals Corp. appointed David Caulfield to the role of acting president, CEO and director of the company. This appointment follows Jason Weber’s resignation.

Kingsrose Mining Ltd. appointed Scott Huffadine as managing director.

DrLydian International Ltd. announced that Dr. Tim Coughlin will step down as president and CEO. Coughlin will continue to serve as a director of the company in a non-executive capacity.

Sovereign Gold appointed Simon Bird as corporate advisor. Bird will assist the executive team as the company transitions from exploration to development of the company’s IRGS projects at Mount Adrah and Uralla NSW.

Brian-HinchcliffeGeorge-OgilvieKirkland Lake Gold Inc. announced that Mark Tessier has resigned as COO and member of the board of directors; Brian Hinchcliffe has accepted a new position as deputy chairman; and George Ogilvie has been appointed as CEO.

The Nordic Exploration Award and Northern Lights Awards were announced in Stockholm in late November during the Mining on Top: Stockholm Conference, which was celebrating its 10th anniversary. This year’s Nordic Exploration prize was awarded to Ole Christian Anthon Christiansen for his work in the region over the past two decades. Christiansen has been at the forefront of the Greenland exploration and mining industry, working to develop the country’s natural mineral resources. Christiansen, who is the CEO of NunaMinerals, has been instrumental in the discovery of gold in south Greenland. The first Northern Lights Awards went to professor Charlie C Li of the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim, Norway. He received the award for his work with the deformable rock bolt. The D-bolt is a rock bolt designed for rock reinforcement in deep underground mines where the rock either deforms extensively, or suddenly fails through rock bursts. The second Northern Light Award was given jointly to Leif Gustafsson and Sture Åberg for their work at Malmfälten i Norr AB (as head of research and development, and as CEO, respectively). This award is for development of the Cavimeter, which is expected to improve control of the quality of grouted rock bolts. The Cavimeter is a new, and unique method to verify the quality of grouted rock bolt installations.

Michael-HutchinsonNoricum Gold Ltd. appointed Michael Hutchinson to its board of directors as non-executive chairman.

CEEC International Ltd. announced three new directors to the board: Maryse Belanger, Mary Stewart and Ivan Mullany. Belanger is the senior vice president, technical services, at Goldcorp. Stewart is the general manager of consulting for Energetics. Mullany is senior vice president, capital projects for Barrick Gold.

GIW Industries announced that mechanical engineer and industry expert, Reab Berry, was awarded the 2013 SME Hero of the Industry award at the 28th Annual Phosphate Conference, Mining for a Growing World.

AME International announced that Chris Brothen will function in a business development role for the company.

Dr. Reinhold Festge, managing partner of Haver and Boecker in Oelde, Germany, has been elected as the new president of the German Engineering Federation (VDMA). He succeeds Dr. Thomas Lindner of the Groz-Beckert KG in Albstadt who served as president of the VDMA since 2010. Festge is a member of the restricted board and sits on the main board of the VDMA. From 1998 to 2004, he was chairman of the VDMA professional association for construction and building material machinery. He was chairman of the VDMA state federation of North Rhine Westphalia from 2005 to 2011.

CRCMining Automation Program Leader, professor Ross McAree, has been elected a fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE). McAree is professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Queensland. His current, and most profound contributions, have been with the Australian mining industry and global mining equipment manufacturers. McAree’s research team at CRCMining and the University of Queensland is an internationally recognized pioneer in mining equipment automation.

Steinert US has hired Troy Robertson as engineering and service manager.

Boart Longyear appointed Vince Trotta as the new director of North American product sales.

Martin Weissburg has been appointed president of Volvo Construction Equipment.

Eriez promoted Bill Dudenhoefer to market manager-heavy industry.

EP Minerals promoted Gregg Jones to the role of president.

Gerd Dolenga has retired from Bartec. Andreas Scheid, who is the managing director for sales and marketing since 2011, will take over the overall responsibility of the company.

PT Tech Inc. announced Stacey Urdiales as the new marketing manager.

Sturtevant hired Richard Robatzek as product manager.