The National Mining Hall of Fame and Museum (NMHFM) has announced the 2011 National Mining Hall of Fame inductees. Representing the coal, metallurgical/processing R&D, marble and lead industries, this year’s inductees cover a diverse cross-section of the mining industry. William Diamond, Wayne Hazen, Redfield Proctor and Jeffrey Zelms will join 210 other mining industry pioneers when they are formally inducted into the National Mining Hall of Fame at the 24th Annual Induction Banquet & Ceremony. They were selected for being visionaries, leaders and ambassadors both within their own sectors and across the industry at large.

2011 National Mining Hall of Fame Inductees:
William Francis Diamond (1914 – )
Had an illustrious engineering and managerial career that spanned four decades with Island Creek Coal Co. During that time, he was responsible for the engineering and construction of the deepest coal mines producing in North America at the time.

Wayne Colby Hazen (1917 – 2009)
Founded Hazen Research, Inc. in Golden, Colorado. He served as president and CEO of the company for 22 years and grew it from a one-building laboratory to the largest private metallurgical and processing R&D contractor in the United States.

Redfield Proctor (1831 – 1903)
Founded the Vermont Marble Co., which became the world’s largest marble company by the beginning of the 20th century. He also had a notable career as a public servant, serving as governor of Vermont, secretary of war in the cabinet of President Harrison, and senator from Vermont.

Jeffrey L. Zelms (1944 – )
Helped keep the U.S. lead industry alive during the most volatile period in its modern history. As CEO of The Doe Run Co., he guided the company through the collapse of the lead market in the 1980s and the recession in the 1990s, ensuring lead mining remained a viable industry in the United States.

The 2011 Prazen Living Legend of Mining Award will also be presented at the September event. This year’s recipient is the Ohio Aggregates & Industrial Minerals Association (OAIMA), which undertakes a wide variety of programs and projects all designed to educate the public about the minerals industry. The Prazen Award recognizes organizations and individuals who excel in informing the public of the vital importance of mining and minerals.

A primary example of OAIMA’s commitment to educating the public on the importance of the minerals industry is its Project STONE (Science Teaching for Ohio’s New Economy). The project STONE is an earth and space science inquiry-based professional development program for Ohio earth science teachers based on real-world situations, while also informing teachers.

The OAIMA Scholarship Program, which to date has awarded more than $20,000 to students taking courses relating to exploration, excavation, engineering, acquisition, production or other areas of the industrial minerals industry, for use in pursuit of their degrees.

The National Mining Hall of Fame inductees and Prazen Award recipient will be honored at the 24th Annual Hall of Fame Induction Banquet and Ceremony to be held September 10, 2011, at the historic NMHFM campus in Leadville, Colorado.