Image title
Nelson Pizarro

Codelco named Nelson Pizarro CEO. He is a former manager of its Chuquicamata mine with more than five decades of industry experience.


Silver Predator Corp. appointed Clifford D. Nelson Jr. as CEO and director. His appointment follows the resignation of Nathan A. Tewalt. Tewalt will remain a technical advisor and will continue to serve on the board of directors. Nelson has served as president of Springer Mining Co. since 2013.


Image title Image title
Johan Dagertun Tomas Gustafsson
Image title Image title
Johan Balck Hans Andersson
Image title Image title
Hans Nilsson Jari Väisänen
Image title Image title
Klas Olsson Krister Winsa
Image title  
Manfred Lindvall  

Northland Resources S.A. announced changes to the executive management team. The management team will consist of four positions, besides the CEO. Johan Dagertun, currently vice president financing and business control, will assume the role of CFO. Tomas Gustafsson, currently project manager, will assume the role of chief administrative officer. Johan Balck, in addition to his current position as CEO, will assume the role of acting COO. The chief technical officer has yet to be appointed. Hans Andersson, general manager production, will assume the role of mine manager. Hans Nilsson, vice president marketing and logistics, will assume the role of director of marketing and sales. Jari Väisänen will continue as vice president, Finnish operations. Klas Olsson, vice president procurement, will assume the role of manager of procurement. Krister Winsa, vice president, accounting and tax, will assume the role of manager of accounting and tax. Manfred Lindvall, vice president exploration, technology and energy, will assume the role of director of exploration and senior advisor. Pia Vennerberg, project manager Pellivuoma, will leave the company.


Santacruz Silver Mining Ltd. appointed Robert Byrd as COO. He most recently served as the country manager for Mexico with Silver Standard Resources. Byrd replaces Francisco Ramos, who stepped down.


Callinex Mines Inc. appointed Rebecca Moriarty as CFO. She previously spent 11 years at PwC working with public resource companies providing corporate finance, strategic planning and regulatory compliance services. The previous CFO Tamara Edwards, who also currently serves as CFO of Callinan Royalties Corp., has resigned.


First Colombia Gold Corp. appointed Clarence Parks president. Most recently, he held the position of CEO for DHS Holding Co.


Evrim Resources Corp. appointed Howard Davies as COO and vice president of exploration.


First Bauxite Corp. announced that Alan Roughead has replaced Hilbert Shields as president and CEO. Until its sale to Sibelco in 2012, Roughead was CEO and managing director of Queensland Magnesia Pty. Ltd. He has been a non-executive director of FBX since August 2012.


Image title
Audra Walsh

Sierra Metals Inc. appointed Audra Walsh as CEO and president. Walsh was the CEO and president of Minera SA, and the controlling shareholder of Orvana Minerals Corp. Daniel Tellechea will retire as CEO and president of Sierra Metals.


Goldplat appointed Gerard Kisbey-Green to the board as a non-executive director. Most recently, he was president and CEO of Aurigin Resources Inc.


China Gold International Resources Corp. appointed Liangyou Jiang as senior executive vice president. Jiang joined the company in August 2010 as the general manager of Tibet Huatailong Mining Development Corp. Ltd., and in February 2012 was appointed as the chairman of Tibet Huatailong.


Image title
Timothy Haddon

Midway Gold Corp. appointed Timothy Haddon as the new non-executive chairman. Current Chairman and CEO Ken Brunk has decided to retire. Haddon will replace Roger Newell on the board, who has retired.


Kevin Jennings will be joining Banro Corp. as senior vice president and CFO. Most recently, he served as CFO of SUN Gold.


Image title
Alexey Ivanushkin

Mechel OAO appointed Alexey Ivanushkin first deputy chief executive officer. Prior to his appointment, Ivanushkin was the CEO of Oriel Resources Ltd.


Kleinfelder announced that Peter Barton, formerly COO of Yancoal Australia Ltd., has been named principal energy and mining.


FLSmidth & Co. A/S appointed Manfred Schaffer president of the new Minerals Division and member of group executive management. From 2006 to 2013, he was president of Sandvik Surface Mining and Systems.


Image title
Svein Richard Brandtzaeg

Svein Richard Brandtzaeg, president and CEO of Norsk Hydro ASA, will leave Hydro to take over as president and CEO of Yara International ASA from February 1, 2015, at the latest.


Atlas Copco appointed Per Rehn as the vice president for business development pumps for the Portable Energy Division. Rehn has almost two decades of international experience in several key roles at a global pump manufacturer, including as regional manager emerging markets, general manager for North America, global marketing manager and managing director. Nico Delvaux was also appointed as president of the compressor technique business area. He is currently president of the construction technique business area.


MWH Global appointed Matthew Setty to principal environmental scientist. Setty brings to MWH nearly 18 years of international experience in the hard rock mining sector.


AMEC appointed Julian Walker as director of communications.


MineWare has appointed Roy Pater to its team as global sales director. Prior to joining MineWare, he was the sales director of Africa and Australia at Mine Site Technologies.


Donaldson Company appointed Guillermo Briseño, vice president, Latin America. He is currently Donaldson’s managing director, Latin America.