Rio Tinto SamWalsh
Sam Walsh

The Rio Tinto board has extended the tenure of chief executive Sam Walsh and CFO Chris Lynch to long-term, open-ended commitments.

Polyus Gold announced that Fyodor Kirsanov has resigned from the position of general director of OJSC Polyus Gold. Pavel Grachev, interim CEO, has taken on the responsibilities of general director.

Primero Mining Corp. announced that Renaud Adams, president and COO, has resigned. Adams’ duties will be assumed by senior management on an interim basis while a search for his replacement is completed.

William M. Zisch
William M. Zisch

Midway Gold announced that William M. Zisch has been appointed president and CEO. Zisch will succeed Kenneth Brunk, who previously announced his retirement.

Champion Iron Ltd. appointed Michael O’Keeffe CEO. O’Keeffe will retain his current position as executive chairman of Champion. This follows the resignation from Champion of Thomas Larsen to head up Cartier Iron Corp. last month.

First Colombia Gold Corp. announced the resignation of Dr. E. Robert Gates as its CEO and member of the board. Jason Castenir will become its new CEO and chairman. He previously served as a consultant and advisor to the company and was instrumental in the company’s recent oil and gas acquisition.

Janet Lee-Sherif

Golden Predator Mining appointed Janet Lee-Sheriff CEO. Grey Hayes has resigned.

Baja Mining Corp. announced that Minera y Metalurgica del Boleo S.A. de C.V. appointed Sang BumLee as COO following the death of Kyoung Jin Park. He worked for 30 years within Korea Zinc Ltd. Following his retirement from KoreaZinc, he acted as a technical and commercial adviser to Korean and Australian engineering and metal production companies. Most recently, he was the president of Sangdong Mining Corp.

Image title
Chad Ulansky

Diamante Minerals named Chad Ulansky CEO and also was elected to the board of directors.

Kilo Goldmines Ltd. appointed Michael Skead as interim president and CEO. He will replace Alex van Hoeken, who has resigned. Skead is the vice president of project evaluation with Dundee Resources Ltd. and is a professional geologist with more than 25 years of experience in exploration and project evaluation, with particular emphasis in the east and central Africa regions.


Tillwater Mining announced that Terry Ackerman, vice president of corporate development, has retired. Ackerman joined the company in 2000 as the director of corporate planning.

El Tigre Silver Corp. appointed Wade Anderson to the newly created role of co-CEO. Anderson will share the position of co-CEO with current CEO and President Stuart Ross. Anderson joined El Tigre as a director in 2010.

Image title
Andrew Lawry

MacPhersons Resources appointed Andrew Lawry to oversee the design of the Nimbus processing plant and the project’s final capital and operating cost estimates.

Craig Dawson was appointed general manager operations of ABM Resources NL.

Northern Star Resources appointed Shaun Day CFO. Most recently, he was CFO at Sakari Resources.

Tim Goyder
Tim Goyder

Chalice Gold Mines Ltd. announced a number of changes: Bill Bent has stepped down as managing director, and will be succeeded by the founder and current executive Chairman Tim Goyder. Goyder will be replaced as chairman by Director Tony Kiernan. Dr. Doug Jones will also step down from the board as an executive director. Gary Snow has been appointed COO. Most recently, he was executive general manager, exploration and new business for Intrepid Mines.

Gao Wenxiang
Gao Wenxiang

ITRI announced its next chairman will be Gao Wenxiang, general manager of Yunnan Tin Group (Holding) Co.

Alan O'Connell
Alan O’Connell

Camfil Air Pollution Control appointed Alan O’Connell executive vice president in charge of worldwide operations. He was president and CEO of the Camfil Group for 12 years, stepping down in late 2013 to serve in a senior advisory capacity. O’Connell replaces Lee Morgan, who will resign.

Ed Rapp
Tom Pellette

Caterpillar Group Presidents Stu Levenick and Steve Wunning have elected to retire. Cat named current Group President Ed Rapp as Wunning’s replacement. Tom Pellette, Caterpillar vice president and president of Solar Turbines Inc., has been promoted and will replace Rapp as group president with responsibility for construction industries. Rob Charter, vice president with responsibility for the excavation division, has been promoted and will replace Levenick as group president with responsibility for customer and dealer support.

Image title
John Rich

Brookville Equipment President Larry Conrad announced his retirement after a career that spans more than 35 years at the Pennsylvania-based manufacturer. Conrad will be replaced as president in the interim by Dalph S. McNeil, who also serves as chairman and CEO.

Image title
Jason Andringa
Image title
Mary Andringa

Ann-Sofie Nordh has been appointed new head of investor relations at Sandvik. Magnus Larsson, current head of investor relations, will take on a position leading business development projects in Sandvik.

Laura Grainer
Laura Grainer

Laura Grainer has joined Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP as a partner in the firm’s natural resources department. Grainer will be based out of Reno, where she will lead the firm’s new Nevada office. Prior to joining DGS, Grainer was a partner at a large Nevada law firm.

Sam Teresi

Columbia Steel announced that Sam Teresi will be the company’s district manager in Nevada. Hayward Baker Inc. named Eric Drooff president. He has been the vice president and senior vice president of the northeast region for the past 12 years. Geo-Foundations Contractors Inc. and the Keller Canada Toronto office havejoined forces and will operate as Geo-Foundations, a

Hayward Baker company under the leadership of Todd Edmunds. Scott Nichols has been appointed vice president of Hayward Baker’s northeast region. Kevin Dawson has been appointed area manager of the Providence office.