William M. Zisch
William M. Zisch Dr. Dan Alexander

Midway Gold Corp. announced William M. Zisch as the new president and CEO.

Dr. Dan Alexander is stepping down as CEO of JKTech at the end of 2014 to commence a role within Anglo American as head of open forum based in London.

Brett Cunningham Khanyisile Kweyama
Brett Cunningham Khanyisile Kweyama

He initially started work within JKTech in 2000 and built a thriving flotation consulting business. Brett Cunningham, general manager of JKTech’s Technology and Knowledge Transfer team, will step into the role of acting CEO.

Khanyisile Kweyama, executive director of Anglo American South Africa, has been nominated for a two-year term as CEO of Business Unity South Africa.

Tim Hollaar Brian Booth
Tim Hollaar Brian Booth

Royal Nickel announced that its CFO, Fraser Sinclair, will step down. Tim Hollaar will be appointed the new CFO of RNC. He joins RNC from North American Palladium Ltd.

Claude Resources Inc. announced that its board of directors named Brian Booth, current lead director, as chair. Current Chair Mike Sylvestre will step down. Sylvestre will remain on the board as a director until February 19, at which point he will resign from Claude. Booth currently serves as the president and chief executive officer of Pembrook Mining Corp.

Dannemora Mineral appointed Karl Ove Grönqvist as acting CFO. He will replace Niklas Kihl. Ove Grönqvist’s background includes positions as CFO of Rottneros and EuroMaint Rail AB.

Andrew SharpAndrew Sharp

Golden Minerals Co. appointed Andrew Sharp as general manager for the Velardena properties located in northeastern Durango State, Mexico. He most recently served as vice president of technical services for Silver Standard Resources.

Great Atlantic Resources Corp. announced that Dave Martin will be joining the company as vice president of exploration. Martin has more than 20 years experience, which includes more than 10 years with Geodex Minerals Ltd. as an exploration geologist, regional manager and vice president for its New Brunswick operations.

Layne Christensen Co. appointed Michael J. Caliel as president and CEO, and member of the board of directors. He will succeed David Brown who assumed the role of CEO on an interim basis in June 2014. Brown will continue to serve as chairman of the board. Caliel joins Layne after having served as president and CEO of the Invensys Software and Industrial Automation Division of Invensys.

New Jersey Mining Co. appointed Patrick Highsmith as its new president and CEO. Most recently, Highsmith served as lead advisor to Juniper Resources LLC.

The American Exploration & Mining Association (AEMA) presented awards to four individuals and one company at its 120th Annual Meeting and Exposition in Sparks, Nevada. The 2014 Honorary Life Membership Award recipient is Richard Delong, Enviroscientists Inc. He has served AEMA in numerous capacities, including two terms on the board of trustees from 2007-2009 and 2013-2015, second vice president in 2010, first vice president in 2011 and as the association’s president in 2012. The President’s Award recognizes an individual member for important contributions to AEMA, recognizing significant and/or special service. The 2014 recipient is Ralph Noyes. He is a longtime AEMA member, having served as a trustee in 1990, 2003-2004 and from 2008-2010. He is responsible for adding the popular Growth Companies session to the Annual Meeting in 2003 and was annual meeting program chair in 2008. This year, AEMA is presenting two Distinguished Service to the Minerals Industry Awards to Dorothy Kosich and Congressman Mark Amodei. Kosich is currently deputy editor and Americas editor at Mineweb. Congressman Amodei has represented Nevada’s Second District since January 2011 and was recently re-elected to his third term. AEMA’s 2014 Safety Award is presented to Bruce Watzman, senior vice president regulatory affairs, National Mining Association (NMA). Once NMA’s Board of Directors adopted the CORESafety Initiative, the task fell on Watzman to implement the program. AEMA’s 2014 Environmental Excellence Award is presented to Resolution Copper Mining in recognition of their outstanding work in reclaiming the historic Magma Copper Mine Site, and rehabilitating historically significant buildings in Superior, Arizona.

Dr. Russ MorrisonDr. Russ Morrison

Dr. Russ Morrison, a founding member of BMT WBM, has been recognized for his long, distinguished and innovative engineering career by the senate of the University of Queensland who bestowed on him a doctor of engineering honoris causa. Previously, he had been acknowledged by his appointment as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM), award of a Centenary Medal by the Commonwealth of Australia, election to the Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Technological Science and Engineering, and award of the prestigious AGM Michell Medal by Engineers Australia.

International Tower Hill Mines Ltd. announced that Tom S. Q. Yip will resign as CFO.

Jarrett SidneyJarrett Sidney

McLanahan Corp.’s Mineral Processing Division and the Power and Energy Division (formerly the HSS Sampling System Division) have been combined to form one new division—the Mineral, Power and Energy (MPE) Division. This new division is managed by Jarrett Sidney, formerly general manager—Power and Energy Division.

Lundin Gold Inc. announced the appointment of Tony George as vice president of project development. George will be responsible for all aspects of the Fruta del Norte feasibility study. Most recently, he was senior vice president of another Lundin Group company, Lucara Diamond Corp.

Katanga Mining announced that Johnny Blizzard has been appointed as the new COO. He succeeds Don Peterson, who has held the position on an interim basis after the departure of Richmond Fenn, who will now focus again on his primary role as head of the company’s mining operations. Blizzard’s last appointment was director of operations at Kinross Tasiast gold mine in Mauritania, Africa.