Bold Baatar
Bold Baatar

Rio Tinto terminated the contracts of Energy and Minerals Chief Executive Alan Davies and Legal and Regulatory Affairs Group Executive Debra Valentine. After reviewing the findings of an internal investigation into the 2011 contractual arrangements with a consultant who provided advisory services on the Simandou project in Guinea, the Rio Tinto board has concluded that executives failed to maintain the standards expected of them under its global code of conduct. Davies will be replaced by Bold Baatar, who will join the executive committee as energy and minerals chief executive.

Vera Kirikova Simone Niven
Vera Kirikova Simone Niven

Premier Gold Mines Ltd. announced it has retained the services of Brent Kristof as vice president of operations. Most recently, he served as COO at Klondex Mines Ltd.

Steve Allen, formerly company secretary of BG Group plc, has been appointed company secretary for Rio Tinto plc and joint company secretary of Rio Tinto Ltd. Tim Paine continues to be joint company secretary of Rio Tinto Ltd., based in Melbourne. Vera Kirikova will assume the role of Human Resources Group executive and Simone Niven the role of Corporate Relations Group executive. Organizational Resources Group executive Hugo Bague will leave the company on March 31.

Barrick Gold appointed Pablo Marcet to its board of directors. Marcet has held senior management positions in geology, mining operations and business development with South American mining operations, including 15 years at BHP Billiton.

Pablo Marcet Nancy K. Buese
Pablo Marcet Nancy K. Buese

Compañía de Minas Buenaventura S.A.A. has decided to separate the chairman and CEO roles. The board has accepted the resignation of Roque Benavides, CEO, effective January 2. Benavides will remain as chairman of the board. The board appointed Victor Gobitz as the new CEO, effective January 2.

Newmont Mining Corp. appointed Nancy K. Buese to succeed Laurie Brlas as executive vice president and CFO. Brlas is retiring.

Barrick Gold Corp. and Novagold Resources, the owners of Donlin Gold LLC, appointed Andy Cole as general manager of the Donlin Gold project in Alaska.

Helene Seim Brent Kristof
Helene Seim Brent Kristof

Helene Seim has been appointed general manager at Boliden’s Odda zinc smelter in Norway. She replaces Dag Berg, who has been general manager since 2010, and who has been appointed manager of research and development, strategic projects, within Boliden Smelters.

Helene Seim Adam Buchanan
Hans Jönsson Adam Buchanan

Hans Jönsson has been appointed as the new general manager of Aitik, effective June 1. Most recently, he was the general manager of Boliden’s zinc-silver mine at Garpenberg.

Gold Fields Ltd. announced the resignation of Nico Muller, executive vice president of South Africa, effective March 3. He will be leaving Gold Fields to take up the position of CEO of Impala Platinum.

Monarques Gold Corp. appointed Adam Buchanan as director, corporate development.

Helene Seim Xavier Ochoa
James Campbell Xavier Ochoa

Botswana appointed James Campbell as managing director of Botswana Diamonds.

McEwen Mining Inc. appointed Xavier Ochoa to president and COO. He joined the company in September as COO.

Rolls-Royce announced that Andreas Schell has been appointed as CEO of Rolls-Royce Power Systems, succeeding Dr. Ulrich Dohle who is retiring.

Treasury Metals Inc. appointed former Kirkland Lake Gold Executive Chris Stewart president and CEO.

Camfil Air Pollution Control (APC) has appointed Graeme Bell to the position of vice president, Camfil APC Americas. His most recent title was vice president, Camfil APC Europe.

Chris Stewart Stavros Daskos
Chris Stewart Xavier Ochoa

John Malinowski, Baldor Electric Co.’s senior director of industry affairs, was recently recognized with the MS’16 Award at the 2016 Motor Summit in Zurich, Switzerland. The MS’16 award is for his personal engagement to make IE3 premium efficiency motors the global market standard.

Encanto Potash Corp. appointed Stavros Daskos as CEO, in addition to his role as president and a director.

Eriez promoted Andrew Goldner to director of export sales. Goldner rejoined Eriez in 2012 as the export market development manager and served most recently as senior manager of exports.

Gregory Hallett Lauro Lacerda
Gregory Hallett Lauro Lacerda

Normet appointed Gregory Hallett vice president, North America, and managing director. Lauro Lacerda joined the company as manager, ground control and construction technologies, heading up the construction chemical and rock reinforcement business in North America. Rob Stepan has joined Normet as product development and production coordinator, construction chemicals, supporting primarily the growing tunnel boring machine effort.

OceanaGold Corp. announced that James Denham Shale, lead nonexecutive director of the board of directors, passed away suddenly on October 24, 2016. Shale was a practicing lawyer in New Zealand where he was previously the chairman of Kensington Swan.

Atlas Copco appointed Helena Hedblom as president for the Mining and Rock Excavation Technique business area, starting January 1. She is currently president of the Rock Drilling Tools division in the same business area. She replaces Johan Halling, who will retire.

Glen Barton Helena Hedblom
Glen Barton Helena Hedblom

Kolberg-Pioneer Inc. has promoted Brett Casanova to washing and classifying product manager. Casanova has been an employee of Kolberg-Pioneer Inc. since May 2008, when he was hired as a sales engineer for the sales and marketing department.

Maptek has made two senior appointments: Simon Ratcliffe as chief technology officer and Jimmy Howlum as head of development, mine planning.

Glen Barton, former Caterpillar chairman and CEO, died October 25, 2016, in Peoria, Illinois, at the age of 77. Barton retired in 2004 after nearly 43 years with Cat, the last five as chairman and CEO. Barton joined the company in 1961 and held numerous positions in marketing and general management. In 2012, Barton was recognized for helping pave the way for the company’s leadership in the global mining industry with his induction into the National Mining Hall of Fame.