Harry M. “Red” CongerHarry M.
“Red” Conger
Mark J. JohnsonMark J.

Freeport-McMoRan Inc. named Harry M. “Red” Conger president and COO-Americas and Africa mining. In this role, he will continue to have operational responsibility for the Americas and will expand his responsibilities to include FCX’s Africa mining operations and the climax molybdenum business. Mark J. Johnson will continue in his present role as FCX’s senior operating officer responsible for Indonesian operations as president and COO–Indonesia and will continue his present responsibilities for global mine planning.


Christophe “Chris” HoetChristophe “Chris” Hoet


UC Rusal appointed Christophe “Chris” Hoet as director of Asian sales. Hoet joins Rusal following a similar role within Vale, where he was regional director sales and marketing base metals, Asia Pacific. He will replace Geoff Watson, who is retiring.


Dean Dalla ValleDean Dalla Valle


BHP Billiton announced that Dean Dalla Valle, currently president of health, safety, environment, marketing and technology, will become chief commercial officer.


John SmithJohn Smith


Paul Benson has been appointed president and CEO, Silver Standard Resources. President and CEO John Smith has elected to retire, but will be available as an advisor until the end of the year. Most recently, Benson was CEO of Troy Resources Ltd.

Robert A. GannicottRobert A. Gannicott Brendan BellBrendan Bell

Dominion Diamond announced that Robert A. Gannicott is returning from medical leave to resume his duties as chairman, and Brendan Bell, currently acting CEO, was appointed CEO. Gannicott has decided to step down from the role of CEO and will now be nonexecutive chairman.


Simon WandkeSimon Wandke


ArcelorMittal nominated Simon Wandke executive vice president and CEO. He replaces Bill Scotting. Wandke joined the company in January 2011 as chief commercial officer of and is a member of the Group Management Committee.


Sir John BuchananSir John Buchanan


Sir John Buchanan, nonexecutive director of BHP Billiton since 2003, passed away on July 13 at 72 years old. He was the senior independent director of BHP Billiton and, for many years, the chairman of the Remuneration Committee. Born in New Zealand, he earned a doctorate in organic chemistry at the University of Auckland before moving to the U.K. for post-doctoral studies at Oxford. He joined BP in 1970, eventually serving as executive director and group chief financial officer from 1996 to 2002. In 2012, he was knighted for services to the industry.

Bear Creek Mining hired Barbara Henderson as its director, investor relations. Henderson was formerly vice president, investor relations, of Pacific Rim Mining. In addition to her new role, Henderson will continue to fulfill the duties of the company’s corporate secretary who is currently on maternity leave.

Silver Predator Corp. appointed Michael Maslowski as interim CEO. Most recently, he was vice president of exploration and COO for Golden Predator Canada. The company also announced that Clifford D. Nelson Jr. has resigned as CEO and director.

Sean Perry has joined Guardvant to lead sales and technical support in Australia, New Zealand and Asia Pacific. Most recently, since 2007, he was the owner and director of SMP Mining.


Bashir AhemedBashir Ahemed


Asante Gold Corp. appointed Bashir Ahmed a director and vice president of production and development for the Kubi Gold project in Ghana. Ahmed, a Ghanaian national, is a mining engineer with more than 30 years of experience in mine operations, planning, production and management. This wealth of expertise gained him the position as mine manager at Obuasi.


Jeff PontiusJeff Pontius


Corvus Gold announced it has consolidated the CEO and president positions, which will be held by founder and current CEO Jeff Pontius. This consolidation results in the departure of current President Russell Myers. Mark Reischman, Nevada exploration manager, will continue to lead the North Bullfrog exploration program.

Golden Predator Mining appointed Greg Hayes as interim CFO.


Kay Randall “Randy” FooteKay Randall “Randy” Foote


IC Potash Corp. appointed Kay Randall “Randy” Foote as president and CEO. The company also announced that Sidney Himmel, who has been with the company since June 2006, most recently as president and CEO, has stepped down.

Nemaska Lithium hired Simon Thibault as director of environmental and social responsibility. Over the past 18 months, Nemaska has also added two engineers to its technical team: Nicolas Laroche and Bertin Ouellet.

OZ Minerals hired Robert Mancini as head of legal and company secretary. Prior to joining OZ Minerals, he established his own legal and consultancy firm in Perth with a focus on advising ASX listed and private organizations in Western Australia and Southeast Asia in the engineering, resources and mining services sectors on major litigation, restructuring, M&A and compliance matters.


James BeamsJames Beams


North River Resources appointed James Beams as an executive director. He joined the company in January and will assume the role of CEO.

Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs announced that G. Brian Wells has been named president of the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation.


Raoul JacquandRaoul Jacquand


Dassault Systèmes announced that Raoul Jacquand has been named CEO of its GEOVIA brand. Jacquand replaces Rick Moignard, who has retired. Prior to joining the company, he was executive vice president, geomarkets sales and marketing, at CGG.

Polypipe hired Bart Malan as the mining business development manager. He has nearly 20 years of experience in mining products and processes, gained through his previous roles with Multotec, Victaulic and Osborn Engineered Products.

Golder Associates announced Dr. Elisabeth Culbard as its new managing director in the U.K. and Ireland. Dr. Culbard leaves the engineering and construction company, Bechtel, where she held the role of head of sustainability for its global infrastructure business and was also a vice president.

Jacobs Engineering Group announced that Steven J. Demetriou has been named president, CEO and member of the board. Most recently, he served as chairman and CEO of Aleris Corp.

Layne Christensen appointed J. Michael Anderson CFO. Anderson will succeed Andrew Atchison, who has served on an interim basis since August 2014. He joins Layne from Southcross Energy Partners L.P., where he served as CFO since 2012.