Newmont Mining Corp. has appointed Gary Goldberg executive vice president and COO and Brian Hill executive vice president for sustainability and external affairs. The company also announced the additions of Jane Nelson and Bruce Brook to the board of directors.

Alamos Gold Inc. has appointed Han Ilhan vice president of projects.

Strategic Mining Corp. has appointed Douglas C. Peters vice president of exploration. He has also been elected to the board of directors.

Thompson Creek Metals Co. Inc. announced Wes Carson, manager operations development for the company’s Mt. Milligan copper-gold project, has been promoted to vice president and general manager of Mt. Milligan. The company also announced the appointment of Darryl McCoy as vice president of supply chain.

Boliden has appointed Kerstin Konradsson head of its smelting operations, succeeding Svante Nilsson who is moving to a new position as director of group strategic projects.

Nevada Copper Corp. has appointed Tim Dake general manager of project construction.

Hecla Mining Co. has appointed Larry Radford vice president of operations.

Guyana Frontier Mining Corp. has appointed Warren Stanyer president and CEO. He has served as COO for Guyana Frontier since December 2010, and is the chairman of the board of directors.

Alecto Minerals plc has appointed Michael Smith technical consultant.

Northland Resources S.A. has appointed Petri Peltonen vice president of exploration. He succeeds Dr. Vladimir Benes, who is leaving the company. Northland has also appointed Petter Brunnberg investor relations manager. Brunnberg succeeds Shawn Morrow, who is leaving the company.

Primero Mining Corp. has appointed Renaud Adams COO.

Douglas Lake Minerals Inc. has appointed Dr. Reyno Scheepers COO.

Red Ore Gold Inc. has appointed Michael J. Zamora president. Paul Pitman will step down as president but will remain on as the geologist consultant.

Blackham Resources Ltd. has appointed Greg Miles executive director.

Peninsula Energy Ltd. has appointed Alf Gillman technical director.

Legend Gold Corp. has appointed Douglas G. Perkins president, CEO and a director.

Trans-Tasman Resources Ltd. has appointed Andrew Stewart CFO and Matthew Brown general manager of exploration.

Montero Mining and Exploration Ltd. has appointed Grant Pierce country manager for Montero’s Tanzanian operations including the Wigu Hill Rare Earth Element Project.

MWH has appointed Laura Casey director of health and safety.

Allied Nevada Gold Corp. has appointed Daniel Moore vice president of technical services.

AXMIN Inc. has appointed Mike Edwards project director and Geoff McLoughlin engineering manager of the wholly-owned Passendro gold project, located in the Central African Republic.

Tirex Resources has appointed Fred Tejada president.

The Alaska Miners Association has selected Fred Parady as the new executive director, effective January 1, 2012. He replaces Steve Borell who is resigning after 22 years as the AMA executive director.

Clariant Mining Solutions has named Jesus Gutierrez head of the company’s recently opened mining laboratory at its headquarters in Houston, Texas.

Mississippi Lime Co. has appointed William H. Ayers president and COO.

Anglo Australian Resources NL has appointed Graeme Smith company secretary. The appointment follows the resignation of Angus Pilmer as company secretary. Pilmer will continue as a nonexecutive director.

Bateman Engineering (India) Pvt Ltd. has appointed Thys Greeff managing director.

Titanium Corporation Inc. announced The Alberta Science and Technology Leadership Foundation (ASTech) has recognized Dr. Kevin Moran as one of its 2011 ASTech Honorees for his role in developing sustainable technologies related to oil sands tailings.

Gemcom Software International Inc. has appointed John Vandermay vice president of product development.

Great Western Minerals Group has appointed David Kennedy CEO of GWMG’s 100%-owned subsidiary Rare Earth Extraction Co. Ltd. The company also announced the appointments of Ian Higgins as managing director, metals and alloys, and David Murphy as commercial director.

BioteQ Environmental Technologies, Inc. has appointed Jonathan Wilkinson CEO and David Speed director of technical sales.

SCHADE Lagertechnik GmbH has appointed Karl-Heinz Fiegenbaum general manager (commercial). He replaces Jörg Hoffmann who is leaving for a new position in the AUMUND Group.

MIL Resources has appointed Tony Williamson CEO. He replaces outgoing CEO Bruce Griffin.

EGS Electrical Group, a division of Emerson Industrial Automation, announced the promotion of Ricardo Mejia to vice president of performance excellence.

Atlas Copco Construction Mining Technique USA LLC has appointed Mike Wentworth product manager, surface drilling equipment.

Milton H. Ward, president, chairman and CEO of Cyprus Amax Minerals Inc., recently passed away. Ward gained national prominence for his many industry accomplishments, including the National Mining Association’s Distinguished Service Award, Distinguished Member of SME, American Mining Hall of Fame, New York Copper Club Copper Man of the Year and AIME’s William Saunders Gold Medal. He was selected as CEO of the Year by Financial World and Wall Street Transcripts magazines. He was a strong advocate for the advancement of mining research following the elimination of the U.S. Bureau of Mines. In addition, he served as an active member of the National Academy of Sciences. Ward, a PhD graduate of the University of London’s Royal School of Mines, received an honorary doctorate from the Colorado School of Mines. He also earned an MBA from the University of New Mexico’s Anderson School of Management and MSc and BSc degrees from the University of Alabama. Prior to his leadership at Cyprus Amax Minerals, he began his mining career as a miner, engineer and supervisor for San Manuel Copper Corp. He then worked as an engineer and superintendent for Kerr McGee Corp., a general manager for Homestake Mining Co., vice president of operations for Ranchers Exploration, Inc., and president and COO for Freeport McMoRan Inc.