The Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) announced the winners of its annual CIM Awards at a gala dinner on May 10 during the CIM Conference and Exhibition. The annual awards recognize minerals industry leaders for their outstanding contributions in various fields. The CIM Distinguished Service Medal was awarded to James L. Popowich. Popowich, retired president and CEO of Elk Valley Coal and 2007-2008 CIM past president, received this award for his leadership in reshaping CIM’s governance policies. The Vale Inco Medal was presented to Robert A. Quartermain, retired president and CEO of Silver Standard Resources Inc. Quartermain received this award for his leadership in the mining industry. The Selwyn G. Blaylock Medal was presented to Phillip J. Mackey, president, P.J. Mackey Technology Inc. Mackey received this award for contributions in extractive metallurgy and for mentoring several generations of engineers.


Launched this year, the CIM-Bedford Canadian Young Mining Leaders Award encourages and accelerates leadership in mining by recognizing outstanding achievement and potential of young Canadian mining leaders. The award went to three deserving recipients: Paul Blatter, metallurgy superintendent, Agnico-Eagle Mines Ltd.; Jim Sarvinis, global managing director, Thermal Energy, Hatch Ltd, and Bernard Tan, CFO, Hunter Dickinson Inc.

Alcoa has appointed Klaus Kleinfeld chairman and CEO. He succeeds Alain Belda, who previously announced his plans to retire.

Tim Baker, executive vice president and COO, Kinross, announced his plans to retire at the end of the year.

SRK Consulting recently opened an office in Lubumbashi in the Democratic Republic of Congo. Heading up the Lubumbashi office will be Congolese Mining Engineer Susa Maleba


Potash Corporation of Saskatchewan Inc. announced James F. Dietz, executive vice president and COO, has elected to retire at the end of June. David Delaney, currently president of PCS Sales, will take over for Dietz as executive vice president and COO. Stephen F. Dowdle has been promoted to Delaney’s position as president of PCS Sales.

Uranium International Corp. has appointed Rahim Jivraj president and CEO, and Keith Laskowski chief geologist.

The School of Mining Engineering at the University of the Witwatersrand in South Africa has appointed Professor Nielen van der Merwe as the Centennial Chair of rock engineering. Professor van der Merwe has a lifetime’s experience in the mining industry, starting in deep level gold mining with Goldfields and Gencor for the first decade of his career. He then branched into coal as the founder of the rock mechanics department in Gencor’s coal division, TransNatal, before becoming Gencor’s assistant group rock mechanics engineer. Service with Sasol Coal and CSIR Mining Technology preceded his move into university academia, when he became head of the mining engineering department at the University of Pretoria in 2001. He takes over the Wits Centennial Chair from Professor Dick Stacey


Stornoway Diamond Corp. has appointed Patrick Godin COO.

Marston has promoted Dale Halley to vice president of engineering services for the company’s Denver office. The company also named Carl Fessenden a consulting engineer.


Cliffs Natural Resources has appointed William C. Boor senior vice president of ferroalloys.

EMC Metals Corp. has appointed George Putnam president and CEO.

Frederick (Rick) W. Firlotte, principal and past-global president and CEO of Golder Associates Corp., recently passed away. Born in Campbellton, New Brunswick, Canada, Firlotte joined Golder’s London, Ontario, office in 1978, shortly after obtaining a Master’s degree in geotechnical engineering from McGill University (Montréal). In addition to working as a geotechnical engineer, his career included a number of leadership roles. In 1989, he established the Montréal office. He oversaw Golder’s Canadian operations from 1996 until 1999, when he was appointed president of the global company. Firlotte served as president of Golder’s global operations from 1999 to mid-2009, a time of tremendous growth and change for the company.

Stillwater Mining Co. has appointed Kevin Shiell vice president.

Joy Global Inc. announced that Eric Nielsen has been appointed executive vice president of business development with primary responsibilities for strategic planning and acquisitions.

New Millennium Capital Corp. announced the following appointments: Moulaye Melainine has been named senior vice president of development; Paul Wilkinson has been named vice president of environment and social affairs; Laurent Piette has been named vice president and project manager, DSO; and Donna O’Quinn has been named field manager.

Cameco Corp. announced the appointments of Tim Gitzel as president and Bob Steane as senior vice president and COO.

Coffey International Ltd. announced the appointment of Rob Tyler as mining manager in West Africa.

Lions Gate Metals Inc. announced that Andrew Gourlay has been named vice president of exploration.

Element92 Resources Corp. has appointed Alastair McIntyre


Denarii Resources announced that Robert Malasek has been named CFO and treasurer.

Hexagon Machine Control has appointed Haydn Roberts president, leading Hexagon Geosystems’ mining business unit including subsidiaries Leica Geosystems Mining and Jigsaw Technologies.

Breakaway Resources Ltd. recently announced CEO David Hutton has been appointed the board’s managing director. The company also announced that Mark Fletcher has been appointed exploration manager.

G4G Resources Ltd. announced that Raul Sanabria has been named vice president of exploration for projects in Central and South America.

3D Laser Mapping has appointed Francois Stroh global mining product manager.
Sillenger Exploration Corp. announced the appointment of Dr. Allan Juhas as director of exploration.

Detour Gold Corp. announced the following appointments: Greg Miazga was named director, construction and engineering; Sheldon Rachuk was named director, procurement, contracts and logistics; Jim Robertson was named director, environment and sustainability; and Rachel Pineault was named director, human resources and Aboriginal affairs.