Rio Tinto Group plc has appointed Mongolian national Bold Baatar president of its copper group. He will be based in London as head of international operations, overseeing mines in countries including Australia, South Africa and Papua New Guinea.


Goldcorp Inc. has appointed Russell Ballexecutive vice president of capital management.


Cliffs Natural Resources Inc. announced that Steven Raguz, executive vice president of corporate strategy and communications and chief strategy officer, recently left the company.

Capstone Mining Corp. has appointed D. James Slattery senior vice president and CFO.

Golden Queen Mining Co. Ltd. has appointed Laurence Morris COO and project and construction manager for the Soledad Mountain project.

Midway Gold Corp. has appointed John Labate CFO.

Orbite Aluminae Inc. has appointed Glenn R. Kelly executive vice president and COO.

Argex Titanium Inc. has appointed Peter Waugh to lead its TiO2 Pigment Development.

Alternative Earth Resources Inc. has appointed Margot Delport CFO.

Veris Gold Corp. announced that Randy Reichert is no longer COO and co-CEO of the company. R. Lee Chapman has been appointed president and Shaun Heinrichs will assume the role of interim CEO, in addition to his current duties as CFO. The company also announced that Joanne C. Jobin has been appointed vice president of investor relations.

Royal Gold Inc. has appointed Karli Anderson vice president of investor relations.

Coeur d’Alene Mines Corp. has appointed Peter C. Mitchell senior vice president and CFO.

Taseko announced that Peter Mitchell has resigned as CFO.

Gryphon Gold Corp. announced Jim O’Neil recently resigned from his position as CEO, interim CFO and a director.

The La Mancha Group announced that Dominique Delorme has been appointed technical director and deputy CEO; Imad Toumi has been appointed executive vice president and COO; Vincent Benoit has been appointed executive vice president, head of strategy and business development; and Patrick Bouisset has been appointed executive vice president of exploration and new ventures.

Former New Mexico Rep. Heather Wilson (R) has been appointed president of the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology. Wilson succeeds the late Robert Wharton, who died in September. She will begin her duties on the Rapid City campus in mid-June, and will become the first female president in the school’s 128-year history.

Layne Christensen Co. has appointed James R. Easter CFO.

Samara Capital Inc., the concerned shareholder of Selwyn Resources Ltd., has appointed Jeremy Link chairman of the company and Justin Oliver president and CEO.

Richard Bishop, who earned his bachelor’s in mining engineering at Virginia Tech in 2002, recently received Virginia Tech’s College of Engineering Outstanding Young Alumnus Award for 2013. While Bishop was enrolled at Virginia Tech, he completed an additional year of mining engineering studies in Europe. Post-graduation, he continued to further his knowledge in economics at the University of South Florida and mineral economics at the Colorado School of Mines. Bishop began his professional career working for Mosaic as a process engineer and was promoted to operations supervisor of its largest phosphate mining operation, with more than 250 personnel in three short years. Then, Bishop joined Harrison Western in Denver, Colorado, USA, as a project manager where he hired, trained, and managed hard rock miners to complete underground mining construction and mine rehabilitation projects in the western U.S. In 2008, Bishop was offered a job in Toronto, Canada, as a mining equity research associate for RBC Capital Markets, where he evaluated potential investments. Currently, he serves as vice president of investments for Aberdeen International, also located in Toronto. Bishop also currently serves as president and CEO of a new investment company in Mongolia, funded by Aberdeen.

Modular Mining Systems has appointed Greg Lanz general manager, North America.

RungePincockMinarco has appointed Jeremy Clark operations manager to lead the firm’s team in Hong Kong.

The Association of Mining and Exploration Companies has appointed Gary Gray Minister for Resources and Energy.

GeoProMining has appointed Alexander Kopyakov CEO of Sarylakh-Surma and Zvezda, Yakutia-based assets of GeoProMining Group.

Hardide Coatings has appointed Dan Wilson North American business development manager.

The Mining Association of British Columbia (MABC) has recognized Pierre Lebel as Mining Person of the Year for 2012. He has demonstrated exceptional leadership in advancing and promoting the mining industry in British Columbia. Lebel’s many activities and achievements span more than three decades of contributing to building and supporting B.C.’s mining industry. From his early days with E&B Exploration to chairman of Imperial Metals with two operating base metal mines in B.C. (Mount Polley, Huckleberry), Lebel continues to invest and grow the mining industry at the helm of four advanced projects (Red Chris, Ruddock Creek, Catface, Sterling). Lebel is also past chairman of MABC (2006-2007) and a long serving member of the Executive Committee.

The Chairman of the Executive Board and CEO of Tognum AG, Joachim Coers, at his own request, will hand over his position to his deputy Dr. Ulrich Dohle in July. The Supervisory Board has elected Dr. Dohle the new chairman of the Executive Board and CEO.

Guardvant Inc. has appointed John Capehartvice president of global business development.


Atlas Copco Construction Mining Technique USA’s Rock Drilling Tools business line has appointed Peter Redaelli product manager.