De Beers has appointed Philippe Mellier CEO. He will succeed Gareth Penny, who announced his resignation last July.

Newcrest Mining Ltd. announced Ian Smith will step down as managing director and CEO. Greg Robinson will succeed him. Smith will remain with Newcrest in an advisory capacity until the end of 2011.

BHP Billiton has appointed Tim Cutt president of diamonds and specialty products.

Peak Resources Ltd. has appointed Dr. Kibuta Ongwamuhana director of Peak Resources’ Tanzanian subsidiary, Peak Resources Tanzania Ltd., and as principal adviser to the board of Peak Resources on Tanzanian matters.

Thompson Creek Metals Co. Inc. announced Scott Shellhaas, current COO, has been promoted to president.

Frontier Mining Ltd. has appointed Yerbulat Tastanov executive director, head of government relations.

Transit Holdings Ltd. has appointed GA (Ben) Binninger CEO of the company’s potash investments.

Colossus Minerals Inc. has appointed Paulo de Tarso Serpa Fagundes COO. Randy Reichert, previous president and COO, is no longer with the company. Ari Sussman, Colossus CEO, has assumed the role of president.

Metalline Mining Co. has appointed Jason Cunliffe chief geologist at Sierra Mojada, Mexico, and Luc Stevenin country manager in Gabon, Central West Africa.

Fortune Minerals Ltd. has appointed William Shepard logistics and procurement manager; Troy Nazarewicz investor relations manager; and Fiona Brekelmans accounting manager.

The Doe Run Co. has promoted Steve Batts to general manager of the Southeast Missouri Mining and Milling Division. He replaces Bob Roscoe, previous general manager and vice president of mining.

Ur-Energy Inc. announced the company’s Vice President of Mining and Engineering, Wayne W. Heili, has been promoted to president and COO, and a director. He will assume the role of CEO August 1 succeeding current CEO W. William Boberg, who will remain as a director. Additionally, Steve Hatten has been appointed vice president of operations; John Cash has been appointed vice president of regulatory affairs, exploration and geology; and Penne Goplerud has been appointed general counsel and corporate secretary. The company also announced the departure of Paul Goss, corporate general counsel and corporate secretary and Harold Backer, executive vice president of geology and exploration.

TVI Pacific Inc. has appointed Joseph Paul McKibben to its senior leadership team.

AXMIN Inc. has appointed Graham Hill COO.

Choice Gold Corp. has appointed Brigitte Dejou manager of exploration.

Simba Gold Corp. has appointed Peter Miles president and CEO; he has also joined the board of directors. Allan Armitage has been appointed an independent director and Bijay Singh has been appointed vice president of business development. The company has accepted the resignations of Quinton Hennigh and Sokhie Puar from the board of directors.

Kvaerner has appointed Jan Arve Haugan president and CEO and Eiliv Gjesdal CFO.

Siemens Industry, Inc. has appointed Doug Keith president of its Drive Technologies Division. He succeeds Anne Cooney, who has accepted a new position as COO of Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics.

Perhimco Resources Inc. has appointed Jean Lafleur vice president of exploration.

Alderon Resource Corp. has appointed Brian Penney COO.

Teck Resources Ltd. has appointed Ralph Lutes vice president of Asian affairs and chief representative of China.

Kalimantan Gold Corp. Ltd. has appointed Faldi Ismail deputy chairman and CEO, replacing Rahman Connelly.

CSIRO has appointed Jonathan Law director of the organization’s Minerals Down Under National Research Flagship.

Allana Potash Corp. has appointed Jack Scott senior vice president of strategic projects.

Lithium Corp. has appointed Stephen V. Goss vice president of corporate development.

Paul S. Barbery, of Bluefield, Va., has been named a 2011 inductee into Virginia Tech’s College of Engineering Academy of Engineering Excellence.

Bellhaven Copper & Gold Inc. has appointed Dr. Jeffrey Brooks vice president of exploration.

Queensland Mining Corp. Ltd. has appointed Stephen Maffey general manager-commercial and Richard Swann general manager-operations.

Anglo Swiss Resources Inc. has appointed David Constable CEO. He replaces Len Danard who is stepping down, but will continue to serve as a director.

Auric Mining Corp. has appointed Michael Burke president and CEO replacing Richard Fesiuk. Fesiuk will remain on the company’s Advisory Board.

Curis Resources Ltd. has appointed Glen Hoffmeyer manager of metallurgy and mineral processing.

Grote Industries has appointed Kent Bode manager of the south central aftermarket region and national account manager for the heavy-duty division.

Dutch Gold Resources, Inc. has appointed Tom Leahey CFO. He replaces Steve Keaveny who will remain on the board of directors.

Gold-Ore Resources has appointed Michael Kerfoot CFO, replacing Maricruz Alvarado.

PMI Gold Corp. has appointed Thomas Amoah exploration manager for Adansi Gold Co., a wholly-owned subsidiary of PMI.

Rockwell Diamonds Inc. has appointed James Campbell president and CEO.

Mundo Minerals Ltd. announced the company’s founding Managing Director, John Langford, has stepped down from his role, and was replaced by Ashley Pattison.

3D Laser Mapping has appointed Jon Chicken sales director.

Comstock Mining Inc. has appointed Michael Norred vice president of strategic resource planning.

Dahlman Rose & Co. has appointed Edwin Chapman Jr. vice president of investment banking and William Hunter managing director of investment banking.

La Mancha Resources Inc. has appointed Nigel Tamlyn COO and Gonzague Thomasset CFO.

Northgate Minerals Corp. recently announced President and CEO Ken Stowe will retire on the appointment of his successor.

Silver Horn Mining Ltd. has appointed Daniel Bleak chairman and CEO.

Ortac Resources Ltd. has appointed Hugo Green CFO.

Texas Rare Earth Resources Corp. has appointed Marc LeVier CEO, and a member of its board of directors. Daniel Gorski, former CEO, has been appointed COO.
Atlas Copco has appointed Robert (Bob) Fassl president of the Mining and Rock Excavation Technique business area.

Derek Anderson has been appointed district manager for the South Central Region of Atlas Copco’s Drilling Solutions Rock Drilling Tools, Surface Drilling Equipment and Geotechnical Drilling and Exploration product lines.

Mine Site Technologies recently added several key personnel to its global operations: Kent B. Henschen was appointed vice president of global marketing and communications; A.J. Misiti was appointed vice president, USA sales; Daren Jensen was appointed senior account executive, Western USA; and Dudley Xie was appointed vice president, China sales.

Amtech Drives has appointed Charles F. Geraldi president of the North American division.