Barrick Gold Corp. announced changes to its senior management team: Patrick Garver, executive vice president and general counsel, has decided to take early retirement from the company. Vince Borg, executive vice president corporate communications, will be leaving Barrick effective July 31 but will continue to provide strategic communications counsel. The Legal, Communications and Corporate Affairs functions will be combined and will report to Kelvin Dushnisky. Sybil Veenman has been appointed senior vice president and general counsel.

BHP Billiton has appointed Tom Schutte president, manganese. Current president, manganese, Peter Beaven, has been appointed president, base metals.

Gold Fields Ltd. announced that Alan Wright will retire as chairperson and director.

US Silver Corp. has appointed Christopher J. Hopkins CFO.

Coal of Africa has appointed John Wallington CEO and executive director.

Andean American Mining Corp. has appointed David Rae president.

UC RUSAL announced the appointments of Steven Hodgson as international sales director and Maxim Sokov as director for corporate strategy and development.

Steve Blower has been appointed president and CEO, and a director of Pitchstone Exploration Ltd.

Intrepid Potash, Inc. announced several management changes: Robert P. Jornayvaz III has been named executive chairman of the board and has transitioned from his role as CEO; David W. Honeyfield has been promoted to president and will continue to serve as CFO and treasurer; and Hugh E. Harvey Jr. has been named executive vice chairman of the board.

Copper Ridge Explorations Inc. has appointed J. Greg Dawson president. Gerald Carlson, founder of Copper Ridge, has resigned as president and CEO, but will remain a director and consultant to the company. The company also announced that Justin Blanchet has been appointed CFO.

Bjorn Koorem has been appointed general manager for Boliden’s Aitik mine.

ArcelorMittal has appointed Daniel Fairclough head of investor relations.

Consolidated Goldfields Corp. has appointed Peter J. Leger vice president of corporate development and Mark A. Fralich manager of investor relations.

SRK Consulting has appointed Eric Olin principal process metallurgist and Fernando Rodrigues senior mining engineer in the firm’s Denver, Colorado, office. Bruce Kennedy has been named principal mining engineer in the firm’s Tucson, Arizona, office.

Affinity Gold Corp. announced that CEO and Director Paul Antoniazzi has resigned from the company to pursue other opportunities.

Mercer Gold Corp. has appointed James M. Stonehouse in-country manager for its Colombian operations.

Sierra Gold Corp. has appointed John Semachko Jr. president.

Silver Standard has appointed John Smith president and CEO.

GoldSpring, Inc. has appointed Corrado De Gasperis president and CEO.

Anooraq Resources Corp. has appointed De Wet Schutte CFO.

Wildcat Silver Corp. has appointed Don Taylor vice president of exploration.

International Tower Hill Mines Ltd. has appointed Karl Hanneman Livengood project manager.

Colossus Minerals Inc. has appointed Luiz Carlos Celaro general director of the company’s Brazilian subsidiary Colossus Geologia e Participações Ltda.

HudBay Minerals Inc. has appointed David Garofalo president and CEO.

Minco Silver Corp. has appointed Dr. Dianmin Chen vice president of operations for Minco Silver and president of Foshan Minco Fuwan Mining Co. Ltd.

Northland Resources S.A. has appointed Bert-Ove Johansson vice president–Swedish operations and Pekka Veisto manager, Finland.

JKTech has appointed Dr. Sarma S. Kanchibotla head its mining consulting business unit.

The Mining Association of British Columbia (MABC) announced the 2009 recipient of the MABC Mining Person of the Year Award is Don Lindsay, president and CEO of Teck Resources, in recognition of his outstanding leadership at Teck and ongoing commitment to BC’s mining sector and society.

Edgewater Exploration Ltd. has appointed George Salamis president and CEO. Edward Farrauto has stepped down as president and CEO and Danny Lee has stepped down as CFO. Farrauto has been appointed CFO, and he and Lee will continue as directors.

Conquest Mining Ltd. has appointed David Hewitt senior exploration manager.

AuEx Ventures, Inc. has appointed Timothy M. Janke vice president and COO.

Century Mining Corp. has appointed Harold (Andrew) Daniels vice president of geology.

Murchison Metals Ltd. has appointed Andrew Caruso CEO of Crosslands Resources Ltd.

Miles Disbrey has been appointed operations manager of Eriez Magnetics.

D’Aguilar Gold Ltd. has appointed John Downie CEO of its subsidiary AusNiCo Ltd.

FerrAus Ltd. has appointed Christopher Hunt CFO.

Wallbridge Mining Co. Ltd. has appointed Bruce Jago president and CEO. Clinton Smyth has been appointed vice president of exploration of the Wallbridge spin-out company, Miocene Metals Ltd.

Dahlman Rose & Co. has appointed Kim S. Fennebresque chairman.

Jussi Ollila has been appointed senior vice president, communications for the Metso Group.

Gemcom Software International Inc. has appointed Cameron Reed vice president of corporate development. Iain McLean has been appointed vice president of its North America business unit, the position previously held by Reed.

Ambercore has appointed David Lewis vice president of sales for Terrapoint USA Inc.

Brigus Gold Corp., the company formed from the Apollo-Linear merger, has appointed Richard Allan COO and vice president.

Normet International Ltd. has appointed Dr. Roar Myrdal technical director, chemicals, mining and tunneling.

David G. Ries, a partner with Thorp Reed & Armstrong, LLP, was recently honored by the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation (EMLF) with the John L. McClaugherty Award for distinguished service to the legal profession, the natural resources industry, and the EMLF.