Barrick Gold Corp. announced that Executive Vice Chairman, Greg Wilkins, recently passed away. Wilkins served as president and CEO from 2003 to March 2008. He had been a member of the company’s board of directors since 1991. Over the course of his career, he held a succession of increasingly senior roles, including CFO in the early 1990s. He took the lead in executing Barrick’s acquisition of Placer Dome Inc., a bold move that vaulted Barrick to its industry position today as the world’s leading gold miner and one of Canada’s most prominent companies.


Iamgold Corp. announced that Joseph Conway, president and CEO, has left the company. Pending the completion of a search for his successor, Director Peter C. Jones, will step in as acting CEO. Jones is currently the chair of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee and a member of the Audit Committee.

Outotec has appointed Pekka Erkkilä to its executive committee. He has joined Outotec from Outokumpu Group where he was executive vice president–general stainless and group executive committee member. The company also announced that Kari Parvento has been appointed executive vice president–group sales and marketing and member of the Executive Committee. In related news, the board of the Helsinki University of Technology has established a fund named after Outotec’s now retired CEO Tapani Järvinen. The fund promotes the research of environmental technology and will fund distinguished individuals’ research and development work.

Inmet Mining Corp. has appointed David Beatty chairman of the board of directors, succeeding Richard Ross who has retired.

Silvermex Resources Ltd. announced the appointment of Arthur Brown as the new chairman of the board and director. The company also announced that Bruce Bragagnolo will be retiring as CEO to focus his efforts as CEO of Timmins Gold Corp. Bragagnolo is one of the founders of Silvermex and has been with the company since May 2005. He will continue to serve the company as a director and advisor. The company announced that Duane Nelson has been named CEO.

Equinox Minerals recently named Colin Johnstone COO.

Silver Wheaton announced the appointment of Randy V.J. Smallwood as president. Peter Barnes will remain in the role of CEO, continuing to have overall responsibility for the direction of the company. Frazer Bourchier will join the company as vice president, business development and technical services.

Hillgrove Resources Ltd. announced the appointment of Cam Schubert as executive general manager for the Kanmantoo copper/gold mine project.

NovaGold Resources Inc. has appointed Gil Leathley as senior advisor to the president.

Hana Mining Ltd. has announced the appointment of Fred Stahlbush as vice president, engineering.

Kinross announced the appointment of Ken Thomas in the newly created role of senior vice president, projects.

The World Gold Council (WGC) announced the appointment of Ian Telfer as its new chairman. Telfer is chairman of the Canadian gold producer Goldcorp Inc. and succeeds Greg Wilkins, vice chairman of Barrick Gold Corp., who recently passed away.

Golden Chalice Resources Inc. announced it has appointed Peter Caldbick vice president of exploration.

International Tower Hill Mines Ltd. announced that Carl Brechtel has been appointed COO.

Rockwell Diamonds named Hans Gastrow operations manager-processing and recovery plant and Johan Oosthuizen financial manager responsible for financial oversight and planning at the company’s operations near Kimberley in the Northern Cape Province, South Africa.

Anglo American plc has appointed Godfrey Gomwe executive director of Anglo American South Africa.

Farallon Mining’s President and CEO Dick Whittington recently received an award from the Governor General of Canada, Michaelle Jean, that recognizes individuals who have worked to strengthen Canada-Mexico relations.

Ivernia Inc. announced that Rob Scargill has been appointed executive vice president, operations.

E. Grayme Anthony, president and CEO of Houston Lake Mining, recently resigned to pursue other opportunities.

Victory Nickel announced the appointment of Cynthia Thomas as chair of the board of directors.

Pacific North West Capital has appointed Richard Goodwin vice president, engineering. The company also announced that Dr. Jonathon Findlay has resigned as vice president, exploration, but will continue in an advisory capacity to the board.

Liberty Star Uranium & Metals Corp. named Eduardo Othon vice president of business development, Mexico.

Empire Mining Corp. announced that Yassen Khrischev has been appointed vice president of exploration.

The University of Western Australia’s Emeritus Professor David Groves has been awarded the prestigious Penrose Gold Medal for his outstanding contribution to earth sciences. The medal is awarded each year by the U.S.-based Society of Economic Geologists.

Noront Resources announce that Glenn Nolan was named vice president of Aboriginal affairs.

Sacre-Coeur Minerals recently promoted Gregory B. Sparks to president and CEO. The company has also announced that Allen David Heyl was named director of mining and exploration.

Weir International, Inc. has named James R. Gummel vice president.

London Metal Exchange appointed David Rough and Rupert Robson independent directors of LME Holdings Ltd.

Dave Birkhauser, vice president-sales at Manitowoc, recently retired.

Roger Dixon has been appointed chairman, SRK Consulting SA.

Jan Leja passed away November 4, 2009. Janek lectured at the University of Alberta, and in 1963 was hired by the University of British Columbia, retiring in 1983. His major contribution was the book Chemistry of Froth Flotation, which offered a deeper understanding of froth flotation fundamentals and applications.

Murchison Metals Ltd. announced that John Langoulant has been appointed CEO of Oakajee Port & Rail.

Godwin Pumps announced that John Hughes was appointed safety specialist, to the Godwin Environmental Safety & Health team.