BHP Billiton has appointed Glenn Kellow president, Stainless Steel Materials. Gerard Bond, who was the CFO of Stainless Steel Materials and who has been acting president, will assume the role of project director in the Finance Group. Jac Fourie will succeed Kellow at New Mexico Coal.


AngloGold Ashanti has appointed Tito Mboweni chairman of the company. He succeeds Russell Edey who is retiring after eight years as chairman, and a member of the board since AngloGold’s inception in 1998.

Fire River Gold announced that Richard Goodwin has been appointed vice president, mining, and project manager for the Nixon Fork gold mine; Larry Hillesland has been named manager of geology for the project; and Kristian Whitehead has been named senior geologist.

Cliffs Natural Resources Inc. announced James F. Kirsch has been named a director of the board.

Extract Resources Ltd. has appointed Jonathan Leslie CEO.

American Manganese has appointed Michael MacLeod COO. He will be responsible for the Artillery Peak manganese project.

Shield Mining Ltd. has appointed Trevor Harris CFO. He has also been appointed secretary, replacing Lexton Graefe.

Batavia Mining Ltd. has appointed Greg Bittar interim CEO to oversee the development and implementation of its iron ore development strategy in the Northern Territory.

El Nino Ventures has appointed John G. Oness director and acting CFO.

Azumah Resources has appointed Alan Thompson study manager for the company’s flagship Wa Gold Project in Ghana.

Kangaroo Resources Ltd. has appointed Peter Richards the company’s non-executive chairman. Current Chairman Mark O’Keeffe will remain managing director.

Pacific North West Capital Corp. has appointed Anthony Kovacs vice president, exploration, and Ali Hassanallizadeh senior geologist/project manager

Bandanna Energy Ltd. has appointed David Campbell manager-exploration.

Conquest Mining Ltd. has named Jake Klein executive chairman of the board.

Silvermex Resources Ltd. has appointed Robert Fraser vice president, exploration.

Orvana Minerals Corp. has appointed Roland Horst CEO.

Actus Minerals Corp. has appointed Carl von Einsiedel president and CEO. The company also announced the resignation of Jack Bal as a director, the president and CEO.

Global Minerals announced the appointment of Dr. Lawrence A. Dick as a director.

Klondex Mines has named Blane W. Wilson executive mining advisor, Nevada operations, to oversee the advancement of the company’s mining and production programs at its high-grade Fire Creek gold deposit. Bryson Goodwin has been named the company’s director of investor relations.

Avalon Minerals has appointed Andrew Munckton general manager-operations.

Wits University has named Professor Fred Cawood as the head of School of Mines. He replaces Professor Huw Phillips.

RUSAL announced the appointment of Andrey Volvenkin as head of its engineering and construction division.

Argonaut Gold Ltd. has appointed Thomas Burkhart vice president of exploration.

The Mining Foundation of the Southwest recently announced the officers elected for 2010: William Hawes was named president of the Foundation; Corolla Hoag was named vice president and 2010 American Mining Hall of Fame chairman; and Susan F. Wick was re-elected secretary-treasurer.

Ross Beaty, founder and chairman, of Pan American Silver Corp. was presented with the prestigious Viola MacMillan Award during the Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada (PDAC) gala awards dinner, in Toronto. The Viola MacMillan Award, named in honor of the PDAC’s longest serving president, recognizes members of the Canadian mining community that have demonstrated leadership in the management and financing of the exploration for, and development of mineral resources throughout the world. Beaty, a geologist, entrepreneur and philanthropist, founded Pan American in 1994 and serves as chairman of the board. Pan American is the second-largest publicly-traded primary silver producer.

Romarco Minerals has appointed Kevin Russell regional exploration geologist at the Haile gold mine in South Carolina.

Major Wire Industries Ltd. has named Richard Bell national accounts manager.

Crosshair Exploration & Mining Corp. has appointed Stewart Wallis CEO. He takes over the position from Mark J. Morabito, who will remain executive chairman of the board.

ELANTAS PDG, Inc. has appointed Rene Castanos an area sales manager for a portion of the U.S. and Mexico. The company also appointed Jim Stockhausen business development manager for the electronic and engineering materials business line and John Yodis product line manager.

Leica Geosystems has appointed Jürgen Dold president and CEO.

Energia Minerals Ltd. announced the appointment of Tony Iannello as non-executive chairman.

Taggart Global recently announced the appointment of Kenneth J. Lund as president.

Jefferies recently named Mike Betts a managing director and global building materials equity research analyst.

Bruce Buchan, a veteran Manitowoc sales executive, has been named to the new role of senior vice president of sales and marketing for Manitowoc’s Latin American organization. Ingo Schiller has been named senior vice president of sales and marketing for North America.

The Hydraulic Institute has named Thomas L. Angle, vice president, product engineering, Weir Specialty Pumps, its 2009 “Member of the Year.” Angle was selected for advancing the technical work of the Hydraulic Institute in a wide variety of venues. The Institute also recently announced its 2010 board of directors. Dennis Ziegler was elected chairman of the board and Ken Napolitano was named president. Dave McKinstry was re-elected vice president of technical affairs; Dean Douglas was named vice president, member services; and Jim Swetye was named vice president, knowledge and education.