Centerra Gold Inc. announced that Patrick M. James will retire as director and chairman of the board in May 2012. Stephen A. Lang, currently president and CEO, will replace James as chairman. Ian Atkinson has been promoted to president and CEO and David Groves has been promoted to vice president of global exploration. Also retiring from the board of directors is Ian Austin, director.

UC Rusal has appointed Barry Cheung chairman of the board, replacing Viktor Vekselberg, who resigned. The company said in a recent statement Vekselberg failed to perform his functions as a public company board chairman over the past 12 months.

Northern Dynasty Minerals Ltd. has appointed Réjean Carrier COO of the Pebble Project operations and technical program.

Atlas Iron Ltd. has appointed David Flanagan executive chairman and Ken Brinsden managing director.

Cliffs Natural Resources Inc. recently announced several senior management appointments within its global finance, legal and environmental functions. Terrance Paradie, previously senior vice president–corporate controller and chief accounting officer, is transferring to an executive development position with Cliffs Global Operations Group as senior vice president, assistant general manager–Michigan operations. Timothy Flanagan has been promoted to chief accounting officer and corporate controller. He has also been elected an officer. Michael Morris will assume responsibility for the company’s global tax function alongside his current responsibilities as vice president of finance. Currently based in Perth, he will return to the corporate headquarters in Cleveland. James Graham has been appointed vice president, general counsel–global operations. He has also been elected an officer. Dave Cartella has been appointed vice president–global environmental affairs and counsel. He has also been elected an officer. Carolyn Cheverine has been appointed general counsel–corporate affairs and secretary.

Gold Mountain Mining Corp. has appointed Chris McLeod president and CEO.

Gold Resource Corp. has appointed Rick Irvine COO and Brad Blacketor CFO.

BHP Billiton announced that Aluminum President Jon Dudas will be leaving the company. Current Aluminum Vice President, Finance, David Richardson, will assume the role of acting president, aluminum.

ArcelorMittal has appointed Suresh Rajapakse vice president and head of health, safety, security, environment and sustainability.

Moly Mines Ltd. announced that Dr. Derek Fisher has resigned as managing director and CEO. The company has appointed COO Collis Thorp acting CEO.

Comstock Mining has appointed Troy Hawkins senior mine supervisor and Roger Santistevan maintenance supervisor.

Horizonte Minerals plc has appointed Dr. Phillip Mackey senior metallurgical adviser.

Lydian International Ltd. has appointed Tim Richards mine manager overseeing mine construction and development at the company’s Amulsar gold project.

James Faulds has been appointed the state geologist and director of the Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology at the University of Nevada, Reno, replacing Jonathan Price. Price is retiring at the end of June.

Orsa Ventures Corp. has appointed Bruno Barde COO.

Oracle Mining Corp. has appointed Doug Nicholson CEO and Nafissa Upright vice president of development and human resources.

International Lithium Corp. has appointed Kirill Klip president.

Mine Radio Systems (Pacific) Pty Ltd. has appointed Warren Dix western regional manager.

Antofagasta Minerals announced that Marcelo Awad has resigned and will be temporarily replaced by chairman Jean-Paul Luksic until a successor is appointed.

Peabody Energy announced a new global organizational structure, with the creation of geographic business units in the Americas, Australia and Asia. Richard A. Navarre has been appointed president-Americas; Eric Ford has been appointed president-Australia; and Chris Hagedorn has been appointed president-Asia and coal trading.

Bellhaven Copper & Gold Inc. has appointed Brad Yonaka vice president of exploration. He succeeds Dr. Jeffrey Brooks, who has resigned.

Einar Brønlund has been appointed head of management at Aker Wirth, a subsidiary of the international oil service company Aker Solutions. He succeeds Christoph Kleuters, who is leaving the company.

AusAmerican Mining recently announced Richard Holmes has been appointed managing director; Jim Malone will retire as chairman, but will remain an executive director, company secretary and CFO. Denis Geldard will retire as a director and CEO.

Pershing Gold Corp. has appointed Larry Hillesland vice president of exploration and development. The company has also hired three consultants: Robert Casaceli, Quentin Browne and Debra Struhsacker.

Hawk Measurement has appointed Jerry Boisvert a mining specialist.

Silver Bull Resources, Inc. has appointed George Rawsthorne vice president of metallurgy.

The Julius Kruttschnitt Mineral Research Centre (JKMRC) within The University of Queensland’s Sustainable Minerals Institute has appointed Dr. Wayne Stange director. He succeeds Professor Geoff Gault, who has been JKMRC’s director for the last two years.

Sunward Resources Ltd. has appointed Michael Malana CFO.

Eriez has appointed John Blicha marketing communications manager.

Matthias Grawe has been appointed head of the Division Industry at Voith Turbo.

FLSmidth announced that Christian Jepsen, group executive vice president, will retire at the end of July.

Skelly and Loy has appointed Daniel L. Miller a wastewater/water systems design engineer to work in the firm’s Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and Morgantown, West Virginia, offices.

The Mining Foundation of the Southwest recently elected its officers for 2012 at the Annual Meeting of the Foundation. James Wm. White was re-elected president; Corolla (Cori) Hoag was re-elected vice president and 2012 Hall of Fame Committee Chair; Lawrence G. Dykers was elected secretary; and William H. Dresher was elected treasurer.

Normet Africa (Pty) Ltd. has appointed Gary Clench head of the South African operation of Normet.