Xstrata plc announced Willy Strothotte will retire from the board as chairman and non-executive director. Sir John Bond will join the company’s board as a consultant and will be appointed chairman.

Kinross Gold Corp. has appointed Paul H. Barry executive vice president and CFO. He replaces Thomas M. Boehlert who is leaving the company.

Goldplat plc has appointed Dr. Robert Pitts Smith managing director of its gold recovery division, comprising Goldplat Recovery Ltd. in South Africa and Gold Recovery Ghana Ltd. in Ghana.

Colossus Minerals Inc. has appointed Claudio Mancuso CFO. Steven Poad elected to resign as CFO, but will stay on as a consultant to facilitate the transition.

Gindalbie Metals has appointed Tim Netscher managing director and CEO.

Alchemy Resources Ltd. has appointed Robert Brierley managing director.

Artemis Resources Ltd. has appointed Andrew Johnstone project director. David Price is stepping down as executive general manager, but will continue as a geological consultant for an interim period.

Brigus Gold Corp. has appointed Jennifer Nicholson vice president of investor relations. The company also appointed Dana Hatfield CFO following the retirement of Melvyn Williams, the company’s current senior vice president and CFO.

Primero Mining Corp. has appointed Joaquin Merino-Marquez vice president of exploration.

Bravo Gold Corp. has appointed Fred Sveinson consulting mining engineer for the Homestake Ridge project.

Claude Resources Inc. has appointed Ted Nieman chairman of its board of directors. Nieman replaces Josef Spross who recently retired.

EMC Metals Corp. has appointed John Thompson vice president of project development.

Golden Star Resources Ltd. has appointed Sam Coetzer executive vice president and COO. D. Scott Barr, current COO, has retired. He will continue with the company as a consulting technical adviser.

Metalline Mining Co. has appointed Tim Barry CEO, president and director.

Stillwater Mining Co. has appointed Stan Emms general manager of the Marathon PGM project.

Selwyn Resources Ltd. has appointed Stephen Rea vice president of corporate development and Wolfgang Schleiss manager of exploration.

Golconda Resources Ltd. has appointed David Orr president. He replaces Sid Dutchak who has resigned.

Creston Moly Corp. has appointed Carlos Garcia Droguett country manager for its Mexican operations.

Harte Gold Corp. has appointed Roland M. Landry project manager for the Sugar Zone project in White River, Ontario.

The Doe Run Co. has appointed Aaron Miller vice president of environmental affairs.

Dynasty Metals Australia Ltd. has appointed Richard Oh executive chairman and Michael van Uffelen company secretary and CFO.

Ryan Gold Corp. has appointed Ian Gendall vice president of exploration.

TintinaGold Resources Inc. has appointed Louis A. Lepry Jr. president, CEO and a director.

Q-Gold Resources has appointed Dr. Karsten Eden vice president of exploration.

Rare Element Resources Ltd. has appointed Jaye T. Pickarts COO.

Seabridge has appointed Jay S. Layman executive vice president and COO.

International Assets Holding Corp. has appointed Thomas Zabrodsky senior vice president, metals of INTL Commodities, Inc.

Cameco has appointed Tim Gitzel CEO. Jerry Grandey, current CEO and a board member, is retiring.

JKTech has appointed Dr. Karin Olson Hoal principal geometallurgist with the geometallurgy and sustainable solutions team.

Automated Positioning Systems has appointed Neal Toso vice president of business development with the company’s APS America LLC division. The company also appointed Tim Jones vice president of sales and marketing for North America.

Skelly and Loy has appointed Royce Holland Sturgill Jr. engineering technician and Amanda Slaughter mine permitting specialist in its Wise, Virginia, office.

Poul Jeppesen, currently president of SKF USA Inc., has been appointed president, SKF North America with an overall responsibility for Canada, Mexico and the U.S.

Björn Rosengren, senior executive vice president of Atlas Copco AB and president of the business area construction and mining technique, is leaving the company to become president and CEO of Wärtsilä Corp., Finland.

Kroff, Inc. has appointed Timothy Laube general manager for Kroff Chemical.

Anvil International recently promoted Tim Hamelin to hardware division sales manager, Debi Skyberg to national inside sales manager, and Sylvain Perreault to national sales manager for Anvil International Canada. The company also appointed Rick Laviolette vice president and general manager of Anvil Engineered Pipe Supports.

MWH has appointed Charles G. Taylor director of development for the natural resource sector.

AB Volvo has appointed Olof Persson, currently president of Volvo Construction Equipment, president and CEO of Volvo. He will assume the position September 1 when Leif Johansson retires. As of May 1, Persson will become executive vice president and deputy CEO and work parallel with Johansson.

Banlaw has appointed Gordon Crane sales and marketing manager.

The Hydraulic Institute recently announced its 2011 board of directors and officers. Ken Napolitano, president, ITT-Residential & Commercial Water, has been elected chairman of the board. Dean Douglas, president, Dover Pump Solutions Group, has been appointed president. Dave McKinstry, vice president, IMO Colfax, was re-elected vice president of technical affairs; Dave Roland, president, Pentair Water-Engineered Flow GBU, was elected vice president of member services; and Mike Medaska, vice president, ARO Fluid Products, was elected vice president of knowledge and education.

Groeneveld Transport Efficiency has appointed Michel Kwetters director of sales operations.