Ragnar Udd

BHP announced new appointments to its executive leadership team. The appointments include two new roles: chief technical officer and chief development officer. Ragnar Udd will become president of minerals Americas, effective November 1. Udd will be accountable for BHP’s copper operations in Chile, including Escondida and Spence, the Jansen potash development option, and non-operated joint ventures in copper, iron ore and coal. Udd is currently BHP’s acting chief technology officer.

Daniel Malchuk will leave BHP at the end of 2020. Laura Tyler became chief technical officer, effective September 1. Tyler is a current ELT member as BHP’s chief geoscientist. She will relinquish her concurrent role as asset president of Olympic Dam, with a replacement to be announced.

Laura Tyler

Caroline Cox will become chief external affairs officer, effective November 1. Cox is currently BHP’s Group general counsel and company secretary. Johan van Jaarsveld became chief development officer, effective September 1. van Jaarsveld is currently group portfolio strategy and development officer.

David Lamont

As previously announced, Peter Beaven will continue as CFO until November 30. David Lamont will commence in that role on December 1.