It is an evening the mining community anticipates each year – the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) Awards Gala. On Monday, May 7, the CIM Awards Gala recognized the exceptional contributions individuals and organizations have made to the mining and minerals industry. This year’s recipients include:

A.O. Dufresne Award: Alain Blackburn

CIM Bedford Canadian Young Mining Leaders Award: Amélie Rouleau, Bora Ugurgel, Gaeleen MacPherson, Mohammed Babaei, Nancy Komperdo

CIM Distinguished Lecturers: Arnfinn Prugger, D. Chad LePoudre, Glenn Lyle, Dominic Fragomeni, Siri Camille Genik, Mary Wells, Marilyn Spink

CIM Distinguished Service Medal: Malcolm J. Scoble

CIM Fellowship: Daolun Chen, Norman B. Keevil, James Edward Beswick, Francis P. Yungwirth, Gregory Richards, Paul Blatter, Robert J. Carey, Roussos Dimitrakopoulos

Diversity & Inclusion Award: Nancy Komperdo

Hatch – CIM Mining and Minerals Project Development Safety Award: Bethune Mine – Legacy Project

John T. Ryan Trophies: Rambler Metals and Mining Canada Ltd., Mosaic Potash Esterhazy Limited, K1 Mine; Westmoreland Coal Co., Genesee Mine; New Gold Inc., New Afton Mine; Cameco Corporation, Cigar Lake; Sudbury INO a Glencore Company, Nickel Rim South Mine; Goldcorp, Eleonore Mine; Mosaic Potash Esterhazy Limited, K2 & Brine Inflow; DeBeers Canada, Victor Mine

Mel W. Bartley Award: CIM Saskatoon Branch

Mining Engineering Outstanding Achievement Award: William T. Schweng

Mining Safety Leadership Medal: James Thomas (Jim) Joy

Outgoing President Plaque: Kenneth G. Thomas

Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award: Simon W. Houlding

Selwyn Blaylock Canadian Mining Excellence: Peter N. Calder

Towards Sustainable Mining Community Engagement Award: IAMGOLD, Scrap Metal Recovery to Support Local Initiatives Peanut Butter Example

Towards Sustainable Mining Environmental Excellence Award: Vale Canada – Sudbury Biodiversity program

Vale Medal for Meritorious Contributions to Mining: Ronald R. Nolan