The German Engineering Federation (VDMA), the head associations of the German construction industry and Messe München International will honor forward-looking technology with Innovation Awards at bauma 2013. Applications can be submitted from April 2 to August 31, 2012. bauma will be held in Munich, April 15-21, 2013.

The bauma innovation award is offered in five categories:

  • Machinery
  • Machinery component
  • Construction process/construction work
  • Research
  • Design

All applicants have to be an exhibitor of bauma 2013. Applications for the category “construction process/construction work” are limited to member companies of the German associations of the construction and building material industry. Applications for the category “research” are no longer restricted to research institutes or universities; companies doing research and development are also invited to hand in innovations.

In each category, three innovations will be nominated for the award. The panel of judges consists of important international representatives of the construction industry as well as leading professors in these fields and editors of specialized trade magazines.

The jury assesses the sustainability and the practical use of the innovations. Selection criteria include cost efficiency, performance improvement, energy and resource efficiency, as well as contribution toward environmental protection, humanization of the workplace and image enhancement of the industry.

In all categories, the innovations must be related to the construction equipment and building material machinery industry, the mining equipment industry or to the construction or building material industry.

Nominations will be officially announced at the bauma media conference held January 29-30, 2013, in Munich. The winners will be honored at the awards ceremony April 14, 2013, at the Munich Residenz.

In 2010, the prize will be awarded for the 10th time. The competition is a common project driven by head associations of the German construction industry such as the German Engineering Federation, HDB (Hauptverband der Deutschen Bauindustrie e.V.), ZDB (Zentralverband des deutschen Baugewerbes e.V.) and BBS (Bundesverband Baustoffe – Steine und Erden e.V.) and bauma.

Conditions of participation as well as the online application form for the bauma Innovation Award are available at