Image title Image title
Kelvin Dushnisky Jim Gowans
Image title Image title
Ammar Al-Joundi Darian Rich
Barrick Gold announced that President and CEO Jamie Sokalsky will step down September 15 and unveiled a new executive management structure that subdivides his position. Kelvin Dushnisky, senior executive vice president responsible for corporate and government affairs and chairman of African Barrick Gold plc, and Jim Gowans, executive vice president and COO, were appointed co-presidents. Ammar Al-Joundi was promoted to senior executive vice president and CFO. Darian Rich became executive vice president, talent management (a newly created position).
Image title Image title
Sandeep Biswas Gerard Bond
Image title Image title
David Woodall Craig Jones
Image title Image title
Colin Moorhead Francesca Lee
Newcrest announced the composition of the new executive leadership team. It comprises of Managing Director and CEO Sandeep Biswas, Finance Director and CFO Gerard Bond, Executive General Manager International Operations David Woodall, Executive General Manager Australian Operations and Projects Craig Jones, Executive General Manager Minerals Colin Moorhead, General Counsel and Company Secretary Francesca Lee, and Executive General Manager Human Resources and Communications Jane Thomas. Debra Stirling, previously executive general manager people and communications, left the company. The role of COO occupied by Biswas will not be replaced. Executive General Manager Sustainability and External Affairs Geoff Day will leave and that role will not be replaced. Phil Stephenson will take up the role of general manager health safety environment and security.
Image title
Kelly Osborne
Duluth Metals announced new management and technical team appointments for the Twin Metals Minnesota joint venture. It includes two new members from Antofagasta, Andronico Luksic and Alejandro Rivera, and three existing members from Duluth, Kelly Osborne, Christopher Dundas and James Jackson. Bill Hayes, Ramon Jara and Gary Loving have resigned as directors. Dundas has been appointed as chairman of TMM and Loving has resigned as chairman. Juan Andres Morel, CEO of TMM, resigned. Osborne, current president and CEO of Duluth Metals, will assume the role of CEO of TMM. The new Technical Committee appointees include Vern Baker, previous president of Duluth Metals, Andrew Hara and Phillip Larson from Duluth Metals, as well as Murray Canfield and Francisco Walther from Antofagasta. Baker has been appointed chairman of the Technical Committee.
Image title
Nathan Stubina
McEwen Mining appointed Nathan Stubina as managing director. He was previously the company's vice-president, technology and will be taking over the responsibilities of Ian Ball, former president.
Image title
Patrice Merrin
Glencore appointed Patrice Merrin as an independent non-executive director. She is currently a non-executive director of Stillwater Mining.
Amarium Technologies appointed Troy Morgan as the manager of operations at the San Pedro mine located in Michoacan, Mexico.
Image title Image title
Ian R. Ashby W. Adrian Loader
Alderon Iron Ore Corp.appointed Ian R. Ashby, former president, Iron Ore of BHP Billiton, and W. Adrian Loader, former president and CEO of Shell Canada, to the board of directors. Stepping aside from the board will be Matt Simpson. Simpson has been involved with Alderon for almost four years.
Image title Image title
Mike Sylvestre Brian Booth
Claude Resources announced the retirement of Chair Ted Nieman and another longtime director Ray McKay. Interim President and CEO Mike Sylvestre will become chair. Director Brian Booth was selected by the board to act as the lead independent director. Booth has been a non-executive director since 2012 and serves as the president and CEO of Pembrook Mining Corp.
Image title Image title
Peter Freund John Westdrop
Centaurus Metals announced changes to its board and senior management team. Operations Director Peter Freund has stepped down but remains on the board as a non-executive director. Richard Hill and Steven Zaninovich have stepped down as non-executive directors. The company's secretarial role held by Geoff James will be assumed by John Westdorp, who will now take on the combined responsibilities of CFO and company secretary. General Manager of Operations in Brazil Alexandro Moura has also stepped down.
Image title
Mark Board
Hecla Mining appointed Mark Board to the position of vice president, technology and innovation. Board was previously Hecla's corporate director of geotechnical engineering. Prior to joining Hecla two years ago, Board worked at Itasca Consulting Group for 25 years as a mining and rock mechanics consultant to mining companies worldwide.
Image title
Andy Blanchard
Syntron Material Handling appointed Andy Blanchard CEO. Blanchard has more than 27 years of experience within the manufacturing community.
White Mountain Titanium Corp. appointed Kin Wong as CEO. He served as a director and chairman since January. The company also appointed Michael Kurtanjek as COO. Kurtanjek now serves as both president and COO.
Image title Image title
James Shelley Graham Mitchell
CMS Cepcor appointed James Shelley sales director. He was previously with FLSmidth. Graham Mitchell was appointed area  sales manager, covering northern England, Scotland and Northern Ireland. Graham has more than 20 years of experience working for Allis Minerals, Svedala and Sandvik.
Image title
Dirk Hoke
Dirk Hoke took over as CEO of the Large Drives Business Unit of the Siemens Drive Technologies Division. After serving for several years as CEO of Siemens' Cluster Africa and Siemens Morocco, in 2011 he took over leadership of the Industry Solutions Division before being appointed to head the Siemens Division Customer Services.
Layne Christensen announced that Rene J. Robichaud has resigned as the president and CEO. David A.B. Brown, non-executive chairman, was appointed to serve as president and CEO.
H-E Parts International appointed Steven R. McBrayer as president of the company. McBrayer succeeds J.P. Richard, who retired after founding H-E Parts in 2006. McBrayer has been the CFO since 2006.

Resource Center Whitepapers, Videos, Case Studies

Let's stay in touch!

All of the latest mining news and our digital edition sent to your inbox once a week.

We'll never share your email address, and you can opt out at any time, we promise.