People - December 2016

Rio Tinto terminated the contracts of Energy and Minerals Chief Executive Alan Davies and Legal and Regulatory Affairs Group Executive Debra Valentine. After reviewing the findings of an internal investigation into the 2011 contractual arrangements with a consultant who provided advisory services on the Simandou project in Guinea, the Rio Tinto board has concluded that executives failed to maintain the standards expected of them under its global code of conduct. Davies will be replaced by Bold Baatar, who will join the executive committee as energy and minerals chief executive.

Read more ...

People - November 2016

Newmont Mining Corp. appointed Andrew Woodley to lead the company’s North America business beginning on January 2. Woodley succeeds Tom Kerr who retired from Newmont after 32 years. Most recently, Woodley was president and CEO of Rio Tinto’s Oyu Tolgoi copper and gold mining operations in Mongolia.

Read more ...

People - October 2016

Barrick Gold Corp. appointed George Bee as senior vice president for Lama and Frontera district development. After leaving Barrick, he became president and CEO of Andina Minerals, before moving on to become CEO at Jaguar Mining. Mark Hill was also appointed as chief investment officer. He will join the company’s Executive Committee, as well as its Growth Group, and will oversee an evaluations team, who will independently scrutinize proposed expenditures before they go to the Investment Committee. He rejoins Barrick after four years at Waterton Global Resource Management, where he is currently a partner and head of mining.

Read more ...

People - September 2016

Kinross Gold announced that Warwick Morley-Jepson, executive vice-president and COO, will leave the company. Lauren Roberts has been appointed COO, effective January 1, 2017. Roberts has been with Kinross since 2004 and was most recently senior vice president, corporate development. Kinross also appointed Paul Tomory the newly created role of chief technical officer, effective January 1, 2017.

Read more ...

Resource Center Whitepapers, Videos, Case Studies

Let's stay in touch!

All of the latest mining news and our digital edition sent to your inbox once a week.

We'll never share your email address, and you can opt out at any time, we promise.